Mick Burns Nenagh Eire Óg and Tipperary RIP

It is with deep sadness that Tipperary GAA has learned of the passing of Mick Burns of Nenagh Eire Óg and Tipperary.

Mick played in 8 All Ireland senior hurling finals in a ten year period between 1958 and 1968, winning 5 of those finals. Mick also won a total of 7 Munster senior hurling titles during his career. Mick first came to the notice of the Tipperary hurling fraternity when he captured All-Ireland minor hurling honours’ with the Blue and Gold in 1955. It did not take him long to come to the notice of the Tipperary Senior Hurling selectors because in 1958 when the McCarthy Cup came back to the Premier County after a seven-year lapse the young Burns was a panelist thus winning the first of his five Celtic crosses.

Over the next ten years he claimed the number 5 jersey as his own. During that period he played in seven All-Ireland finals winning four in 1961, 1962, 1964 & 1965 and losing three in 1960, 1967 & 1968. Also during that period, Mick Burns won numerous National League titles, Oireachtas and Railway Cup medals. With his beloved Nenagh Éire Óg, he captured North Tipperary minor medals in 1951, 1953 & 1955 and North Tipperary Senior medals in 1957 & 1964. He is most fondly remembered for captaining the 1964 team. Those who had the privilege of seeing him play fondly remember him as one of the greatest defenders in Tipperary hurling history.

Mick remained a true and loyal supporter of his Club and county right up to his passing and he will be sadly missed by all. Tipperary GAA extends its sincere sympathies to his wife Pauline, sons Michael, Ronan and John, daughters Michelle and Ciara, his grandchildren and the extended family we offer our deepest sympathies.

Ar dheis Dé go raibh a anam dílis.


All Ireland Senior Hurling: 1958, 1961, 1962, 1964, 1965. Munster Senior Medals: 1958, 1960, 1961, 1962, 1964, 1965, 1967, 1968.

All-Ireland Minor Hurling: 1955. Munster Minor Hurling: 1954, 1955.

National Hurling League: 1958/59, 1959/60, 1960/61, 1963/64, 1964/65, 1967/68.

Oireachtas Hurling: 1960, 1961, 1963, 1964 Railway Cup: 1963.

Brennan Cup (New York) 1959, 1960, North Tipp. Minor: 1951, 1953, 1955.

North Tipp. Junior: 1953.

North Tipp. Senior: 1957, 1964. Dublin Senior League with Faughs: 1960/61, 1961/62.

Comments are closed.