Record Numbers at Borrisoleigh Track-Attack

The new Track-Attack Alphabet Series is attracting record numbers to the track in Borrisoleigh on Monday nights where the sight of all generations integrated as one is a joy to behold. In round 2 of the Series, proceedings started at 8pm on the button and then 270 participants ran, jogged or walked around their distance of choice with ones of 3km, 4km and 6km available.

Participants have been put into 26 groups for the 11 weeks series and they can gain points by improving their times each week. In group A, Bobby Gilmartin leads the way with his brother Jack in a very close second. Helen Kiely Hayes is the early leader in Group B with Denis O’Connell and Paddy McLoughney in second and third places respectively.

Group C is headed up by Therese Groome closely followed closely by Templederry’s Lily Marchand with Ciara Maher in third. Bronagh Prout tops Group D where Karen Ryan and Lucy Rabbitte her closest challengers.

Baiba Vilande is highest placed in Group E, two points ahead of Newtown’s Aoife Griffin and Jack Meehan a further two points behind. Not to be outdone by her mother, Elizabete Vilande table tops Group F, Anna Meehan is in second place while Chantel Feighery is third in line.

The early Group G leader is Norita Ryan on 15 points. Jack Groome and Deirdre Wall are in joint second on 14 points. We have joint leaders in Group H in Paula Stapleton and Helena Kennedy Doyle with Aine Lavery next in line. Vera Delaney and Michelle Meehan lead the way in Group I with the quartet of Ava Ryan, Johnny Ryan, Holly Preston and Patricia Brett a single point behind them.

Cian Campion has a single point lead in Group J over Ella Slattery with Grace Doyle and Caoimhe Keane tied for third. Kevin Delargy heads up Group K, a single point ahead of Margaret Butler and three ahead of Aine Cosgrave. Jack Galvin and Helen Keane lead the way in Group L where Michael Ryan (Cummer) is next in line.

Mick Ryan have opened an early lead in Group M over Gerry Treacy in second place with the trio of Patrice Cooney, Megan Ryan and John Ryan tied for third place. Group N is led by Michelle Ryan, four points ahead of Avril Bourke and six points ahead of Therese Glendon, Ava Stapleton and Martin Cosgrave.

Eileen Looby is the one to catch in Group O where the closest in the chasing pack are Aisling Prout and John Joe Maher. Loughmore’s Tom McGrath leads Group P closely followed by Jacqueline Minogue and Eimear Griffin. Sean Max heads proceedings in Group Q, Aodhamair O’Hagan is in second place while Mark Rabbitte and Rhona Carroll tie for third.

Comments are closed.