Running Fever To Hit Borrisoleigh

With the thriving nature of road running in Tipperary, the contagious fever is set to effect the village of Borrisoleigh on Tuesday 26th of June when the Track-Attack Club will play host to their fifth annual 5km road race in what will potentially be a great advertisement for the sport in general.

Sponsored by Declan Maher Financial Services, the event has grown year on year and with the attractive race package that has been put together for this year, the trend should well continue on its upward curve.

Running Fever To Hit Borrisoleigh

Defending champion Sean Tobin with race sponsor Declan Maher

The defending men’s two time champion is Irish International athlete Sean Tobin from the Clonmel Club while Borrisokane’s Siobhan O’Doherty have been successful on all four occasions to date in the women’s race.

This year’s winners (men & women) will receive €200 each for their efforts with the second place athletes getting €100 and the third finishers getting €75. We are have a bonus for the course record and in what could well be a unique offer, we offer a €100 bonus to each of the top three if they can overcome the standing barrier. The course records are 14:58 for the men and 16:42 for the women with both times set by the aforementioned Sean Tobin and Siobhan O’Doherty.

Running Fever To Hit Borrisoleigh

Defending champion Siobhan O’Doherty with race sponsor Declan Maher

Hand crafted slate trophies will be on offer to the first Under 18 boy and girl and the first man and woman in the Over 40, 50 and 60 age-groups. Prizes are also on offer for every 25th finisher.

The big change to this year’s event is the change to the team structure. Teams in this year’s event will consist of 3 men and 3 women with the winners being the first club to have their name etched on the Track-Attack Perpetual Cup while also picking up a prize of €300. Athletes who finish in the top 3 individual places are not permitted as members of a team but overage and junior grade members are permitted as team members.

The race holds a permit from Athletics Ireland and will be timed by Premier Timing Systems. The entry fee is €10 with a €5 fee for under 18’s.

Comments are closed.