Borrisoleigh Track-Attack

Natasha Leads the Way
There is just 2 scoring weeks left in the Track-Attack Double-Trouble Series which is sponsored by Declan Maher Financial Services left and it’s impossible to predict who will win each of the 22 groups bar one.
Natasha Kennedy looks odds on to take the Mark Carroll group having amassed a total of 109 points to date. Her nearest challenger is Marie Tierney on 71 while Gabrielle Hodgins and Yvonne Meehan are on 69 and 62 respectfully.
Borrisoleigh Track-Attack

Track-Attackers Noreen Ryan, Teresa Murray, Siobhan Carr, Caroline Murray, Phil Mason and Joan Cummins

Clonakenny’s Michael Murray is just about hanging onto pole position on 96 points in the Neil Cusack Group where he has John Vahey (94), John Slattery (92) and Ger Bourke (88) breathing down his neck and each of the three have a great chance of overtaking Michael if they can string together consecutive good performances over the next 2 weeks.

The pace has been hotting up in recent weeks in the Derval O’Rourke Group and the leader board is reflecting this. Siobhan Carr and JJ Bourke are deadlocked at the head of the table on 93 points. Jacqueline Minogue is closing in on the lead with 87 points, Teresa Murray sits on 86 points while Eddie Martin is a further point in arrears.
Borrisoleigh Track-Attack

Scoil Naomh Cualan Students Conor Kinnane, Liam Kinane, Patrick Groome, Tom Delaney, Eamon Groome and Ben O Donnell

Willie Corcoran leads proceedings in the Jerry Kiernan Group with 106 points and he faces a strong challenge over the last few weeks to hold off the attempts of young-gun Adam Galvin to jump into pole position. Adam sits on 101 points while Mary Cahill is also within touching distance of the lead on 98 points. Jack Galvin is on 96 while Mick Ryan is on 94 so it should prove to be a very competitive run in to the group.

5 points separate the top 5 in the John Treacy Group. Mags Looby leads the way on 96 points, Rachel Keane is only a point off the pace on 95 while Seb Marchand and Frances Maher are locked on 94. Eddie Martin is next in contention on 91.
Delia Ryan sits at the summit of the Marcus O’Sullivan group but only just. Having amassed 95 points, she is a single point ahead of Geraldine O’Brien. Celia Dwan is still within striking distance for one final launch for the title as she sits with 82 points.
Therese Glendon leads the way in the Ciara Mageean group having recorded some excellent performances in recent weeks. Having secured 98 points, she needs to keep a close eye on the emerging pack as Karen Nash having likewise strung together some top class performances in recent weeks has a total of 96 points while Martina Kennedy could well be the group dark horse yet with a total of 88 points.
The Catherina McKiernan group is a lottery. Carol Treacy and Niamh O’Toole sit in the long grass waiting to pounce having strung together 92 points each. Aoibheann Carr and Helen Hurley have 96 and 97 points respectfully while the accumulated total of 102 by Suzanne Whyte and Tara Kennedy is the number for the chasing quartet have to aim for.
A fantastic performance from Templederry’s Aisling Kennedy (jnr) on Monday night last cemented her place at the head of the Fionnuala McCormack Group. A blistering PB over the 3km distance saw her get her just reward and now she has a healthy lead at the table summit with 106 points. Aoibhinn Keane is her closest challenger with 82 points while Lucy Ryan is third in line on 71 points.
Liam Leamy holds onto his lead in the Ray Flynn Group with 93 points. Closest to him is Cillian O’Brien on 75 with Mary Treacy-Ryan, Seamus Farrell and Kathleen O’Meara next in line on 68, 64 and 47 points respectfully.
It looks like a straight shoot-out between mother and daughter Marianne Gleeson and Michelle Gleeson for the Ronnie Delaney title. Its Michelle that is leading the way on 105 points but with Marianne a mere 3 points in arrears and with Mother’s Day looming, will she gift her the title!!!
Daniel Madden has climbed to the highest rung of the Dick Hooper ladder with a total of 102 points. He has hit superb form in recent weeks but so have the chasing pack so all is not won yet. Michael O’Brien and Caroline Hassett are in joint second on 93 points each, Tom Stapleton is on 91 while the impressive newbie Track-Attacker Tom Keane has 81.
We have another lottery in the Thomas Barr Group. Denis Ryan now leads the way on 93 points following a string of steady and impressive performances. Johnny Ryan is chomping at his heels with 91 points, Colm Boyle is a further point in arrears while a late challenge by Aoife O’Meara (88) and Richie Tynan (85) is a very definite possibility.
Talented Templederry Track-Attacker Adah Minogue has made her move to capture the Paul Hession title. Having been positioned in the chasing pack in recent weeks, she has now drawn level with Siobhan Groome at the head of the table with both having secured 76 points each to date. Paula Stapleton is one point off the table topping duo so we should be guaranteed a great battle over the next 2 weeks.
The O’Hagan duo of Aodhamair and Micheal have regained their table topping positions in the David Gillick and Eamon Coghlan groups respectfully. Aodhamair’s closest challengers are Sean Ryan and Siobhan Stapleton. Micheal has been the long-time leader in his group but could well face a tough challenge in the run-in for the title thanks to a brilliantly timed run of form by Ciara Maher. She sits only 7 points in arrears while don’t rule out a late surge by Martin Cosgrave either as like Ciara, he has been in excellent form also.
It’s the battle of the Ryan’s in the Mark English Group. Alan leads the way with 105 points, David is next with 104, Hugh is within touching distance of the leader with 101 while the remainder of the chasing Ryan pack is made up by Noreen (97) and Trish (92).
It looks like Paudie Dwan and John Ryan will battle it out for the Michael McKillop title. Only 2 points separate the duo while their nearest challenger is young-gun Anna Meehan.
It’s also a two-way shootout for the Frank O’Mara title. Marie McGrath hold the initiative with 2 points to spare over Eamon Ryan. Mother and daughter Martina and Megan Ryan are the main contenders for the Jason Smyth title. Martina has accumulated 93 points while Megan has 79. Moving up the table also is Geraldine Griffin and with a total of 77 points already in the bag, she could well launch an attack for the title.
Teresa Coffey has been the long-time shoe-in for the David Matthews title and still looks the obvious favourite but another one of our talented young-guns David Rabbitte has refused to concede defeat yet and is hanging in there in the title challenge. 15 points is gap so some strong performances will be needed by don’t rule it out yet!!
If dedication, attendance and determination deserved a prize, then the current leader of the Sonia O’Sullivan group would certainly deserve such an accolade. Irrelevant of the weather, she never misses a night and always give it her all. Aisling Boyle holds an impressive lead heading into the final 2 scoring weeks but she will still have to continue her brilliant recent form to land that title. Marie Kennedy, Lucy Rabbitte and Aine Cosgrave are her closest challengers.
The usual points will be available for the next 2 weeks. The final night of the series will be our “Easter Run” and it will be all about reaching the final distance destination. There will be no updates on the leader boards from here on in so don’t miss any night and give it your all and that title may be winging it your way.
The series title prizes will be presented on the night of our Easter Run.

Comments are closed.