Munster Women set for Interpovincial decider

The Munster Women’s team, sponsored by Keane’s jewellers, to face Leinster in the Women’s Interprovincial Series decider at Thomond Park on Saturday (kick-off 2.30pm) has been named.

There are two changes to the starting line-up who defeated Ulster 32-5 last weekend at Garryowen FC with Anna Caplice promoted from the bench to number 8 and Ciara Griffin moving to the blindside flank.

Captain Siobhan Fleming combines with Caplice and Griffin in the back-row and will continue to lead the team from openside.

Siobhan McCarthy and Chloe Pearse partner each other in the second-row as Fiona Hayes, Gillian Bourke and Fiona Reidy are unchanged in the front-row.

The back-line is set to continue their fine form with Laura O’Mahony selected at full-back, as Laura Sheehan and Syphonia Pua maintain their position on the wings.

Aine Staunton and Niamh Kavanagh are named as the centre partnership while Rachel Allen and Ellen Murphy are selected at out-half and scrum-half respectively.

Deirbhile Nic a Bhaird joins the bench with Leah Lyons, Maura Collins, Zoe Grattage, Roisin Ormond, Edel Murphy, Christine Arthurs and Valerie Powers also named among the replacements.

Munster: Laura O’Mahony (UL Bohemian); Laura Sheehan (UL Bohemian), Aine Staunton (UL Bohemian), Niamh Kavanagh (UL Bohemian), Syphonia Pua (UL Bohemian); Rachel Allen (UL Bohemian), Ellen Murphy (Old Belvedere); Fiona Hayes (UL Bohemian), Gillian Bourke (UL Bohemian), Fiona Reidy (UL Bohemian); Siobhan McCarthy (Railway Union), Chloe Pearse (UL Bohemian); Ciara Griffin (UL Bohemian), Siobhan Fleming (Tralee), Anna Caplice (UL Bohemian).

Replacements: Leah Lyons (Highfield), Maura Collins (Tralee), Zoe Grattage (Highfield), Roisin Ormond (Ballincollig), Anna Caplice (UL Bohemian), Christine Arthurs (Highfield), Valerie Power (Shannon), Deirbhile Nic a Bhaird (UL Bohemian).

Munster Women Interprovincial Series Results
Connacht Women 19-15 Munster Women, Saturday 2 December, Sportsground
Munster Women 32-5 Ulster Women, Saturday 17 December, Garryowen FC

Comments are closed.