The Track-Attack All Ireland Series

Series Semi-Finals
The Track-Attack All Ireland Series which is sponsored by Declan Maher Financial Services is now at the semi-finals stage and Teams Laois, Sligo, Limerick and Waterford are the outfits that have come through their respective groups to earn their place in the knockout stages.
The first semi will see Team Laois battle it out with Team Sligo. A veteran of the athletics scene John Slattery have been one of the driving forces in Team Laois and has been one of the performers that have improved their time every night throughout the round robin section. Marie Tierney and Triona Fitzgerald have also been in outstanding form with major improvements recorded since their first outing. They will be ably abetted by a quartet of young-guns namely Ava Marie Rabbitte, Saoirse Ryan, Ella Meehan and Dunkirren’s Paddy McCormack. Carol Hassett and Celia Dwan will also be hoping for a PB on the night and drive team Laois to the final.
Team Sligo will be a tough nut to crack as their team includes a lot of athletes who have consistently recorded impressive performances all the way though to this stage. Mary Lavery and George Grogan have been excellent throughout, Daniel Madden and Helena Kennedy Doyle are hitting top form while Fergal Prout, Sharon Harkin, Niamh Ryan and Adrian Ryan could well be the quartet of scorers on the night. The jewel in their crown could well be the youthful David Rabbitte who have been recording excellent times in recent weeks.
It’s a family affair in the Team Limerick versus Team Waterford semi. Denis Ryan is on the Limerick team while his wife Trish is on the opposing Deise outfit. Joanne Grogan will be up against her son Darragh also.  Limerick have a youthful look to their team and Ella Groome, Olivia Looby, Jack Meehan and Eddie Ryan will all be gunning for glory. Backing up the youthful quartet will be Anne McCormack, Mary McLoughlin and Eddie Scully.
Claire Butler has been outstanding for Team Waterford while the performance of Paula Stapleton last week was instrumental in seeing her team through to the last four. Micheal O’Hagan is another in excellent form while Templederry’s Donie Kennedy is capable of clipping a major chunk from his Series PB. Pauline Forde, Liam Leamy and John Joe Maher are fully capable of driving the Deise to the final encounter…..

Comments are closed.