Tipperary Ladies Gaelic Football Notes

Lidl National Football League

Tipperary hosted their last home game in a sun bleached Ardfinnan with Leitrim as their opponents. Tipperary won the toss and opted to play with the wind.

From the throw in Tipperary’s Orla O’Dwyer kicked the ball straight into the back of the net after a pass from Aishling Moloney which Caoimhe Condon had collected from the throw in. Tipperary had the start they needed and added to it when Aisling McCarthy pointed a free in the fourth minute. Carla LeGuen replied in the seventh minute with a green flag for Leitrim and Michelle Heslin equalised the game with a point in the ninth minute. Aishling Moloney would not leave Tipperary waiting long for a score and in the tenth minute she scored a goal. Michelle Heslin, Roisín McHugh and Bronagh O’Rourke added three further points to Leitrim’s score line, equalising the game again. Not having scored for ten minutes Tipperary found their kicking boots again starting with an Aisling McCarthy pointed free on the twentieth minute which she quickly followed with another point. Tipperary added three further points from Aishling Moloney, Gillian O’Brien and Aisling McCarthy (free). On the twenty eighth minute Mairead Morrissey, Tipperary traded points with Roisín Fowley, Leitrim. The final scores of the first half were two pointed frees from Aisling McCarthy leaving the half time score Tipperary 2-9 Leitrim 1-5.


The opening point of the second half was from Mairead Morrissey in the first minute. Having been denied a goal in the thirty third minute, when it was caught by Michelle Guickian, Aishling Moloney made no mistake in the thirty sixth minute and raised the green flag for Tipperary. Michelle Heslin reduced the deficit somewhat when she scored a point and a goal. On the fortieth minute Orla O’Dwyer returned the margin to ten points when she netted the ball for Tipperary. For the following eight minutes neither team scored as the ball ebbed and flowed from end to end. The next two points were for Leitrim’s Roisín Fowley. On the fifty second minute Niamh Lonergan and Bronagh O’Rourke traded points. Two more points from Ailbhe Clancy and Carla LeGuen reduced the margin to six points. Aishling Moloney added a point to Tipperary’s score line before Carla LeGuen pointed for Leitrim. The final score of the second half was as it was in the first half, a pointed free from Aisling McCarthy. Tipperary kept their unbeaten record in the Lidl National Football League finishing Tipperary 4-13 Leitrim 2-12.


Tipperary team – Patricia Hickey; Bríd Condon, Siobhan Condon, Emma Buckley; Elaine Fitzpatrick, Samantha Lambert (C), Maria Curley; Jennifer Grant, Gillian O’Brien; Caoimhe Condon, Aisling McCarthy, Orla O’Dwyer; Catherina Walsh, Mairead Morrissey, Aishling Moloney

Tipperary scorers – Aishling Moloney (2-2), Aisling McCarthy (0-7, 6 frees), Orla O’Dwyer (2-0), Mairead Morrissey (0-2), Gillian O’Brien (0-1), Niamh Lonergan (0-1).

Subs used – Niamh Lonergan for Catherina Walsh (44th), Eimear Myles for Caoimhe Condon (44th).

Panel – Lauren Fitzpatrick, Roisin McGrath, Rachel O’Donnell, Laura Dillon, Maire Condon, Alison Lonergan, Nicola Loughnane, Elaine Kelly.


Leitrim team – Michelle Guckian (C); Melissa Hewitt, Clare Owens, Claire Beirne; Roisín McHugh, Éimhín Quinn, Emma Guckian; Eilish O’Dowd, Aoife Fox; Laura O’Dowd, Roisín Fowley, Michelle Heslin; Aine Heslin, Bronagh O’Rourke, Carla LeGuen.

Leitrim scorers – Michelle Heslin (1-4), Carla LeGuen (1-1), Roisín Fowley (0-3), Bronagh O’Rourke (0-2), Roisín McHugh (0-1), Ailbhe Clancy (0-1, 1 free).

Panel – Michelle Monaghan, Kirby Kilgunn, Dearbhaile Beirne, Kiara Keegan, Lorraine Moran, Aoife McWeeney, Sinead Tighe, Bridget Gallagher, Ailbhe Clancy, Patricia Forde, Edel Kelly, Aisling Quinn, Áine Tighe, Stephaine Reynolds.


Referee – Kevin Phelan



Post Primary Schools Competitions

Senior A Final

Congratulations John the Baptist School, Limerick who won the Lidl All Ireland Post Primary School Senior A Championship defeating St Ciaran’s, Ballygawley on a score line, John the Baptist School 2-6 St Ciaran’s, Ballygawley 0-8. Tipperary are represented on the team with players from Aherlow, Lattin/Cullen, Emly and Cappawhite.


Senior B Final

Commiserations to Loreto Clonmel who were defeated by St. Joseph’s of Rochfortbridge in the Lidl All Ireland Senior B Post Primary Schools Championship Final on a scoreline of St. Joseph’s Rochfortbridge 3-12 Loreto Clonmel 1-8. On the path to the Final they disposed of three Cork schools and two Kerry schools to win Munster. They beat a very good Westport side to reach the decider and can look back with great pride on their journey to the All-Ireland.

Team: Claire Moore, Niamh Martin, Maeve Ryan (1-0) , Sadbh Hallinan, Ailish Ryan, Kellyann Hogan, Derbhile Fitzgearld, Cora Maher (0-1), Orla Winston, Aine Fitzgearld, Anna Carey, Orla Burke, Ava Fennessy (0-1), Kristy Crotty Ryan (0-6, 5f), Jenny Everard.

Subs used: Shania Dowling, Veerle van der Wal, Anna Morris, Aisling Deely (C), Rosin Breen.

Panel: Aoibheen Cody, Ciara Ryan, Caoimhe Mulcahy, Ciara Corbett, Ciara Slattery, Lizzie Ryan, Lorraine Dunne, Roweena Dowling, Brigita Valuntatie (inj)

Management: Niamh Barry and Brian White


Senior C Final

Congratulations to Presentation Thurles who successfully overcame Holy Faith, Clontarf in the Lidl All Ireland Senior C Post Primary Schools Championship Final on a score line; Presentation, Thurles 4-11 Holy Faith, Clontarf 2-10. It has been a long journey to the All Ireland Final which has seen them travel to Cork, Limerick and Galway and overcoming Sancta Muire, Louisburgh in the Semi Final.

Team: Saoirse Fanning, Muireann Lloyd, Aoife Finlay, Emma Purcell, Dervla Heffernan, Aoife Maher, Katie Ryan, Niamh Ryan, Muireann O’Connell, Sarah McKevitt, Roisin Daly (C), Casey Hennessy, Lauren McCormack, Saoirse O’Meara, Marie Creedon.

Presentation Scores: Casey Hennessy (2-4), Lauren McCormack (1-2), Sara McKevitt (1-2), Saoirse O’Meara (0-3)

Subs used: Ellen Moore for Emma Purcell (half time), Grace O’Donnell for Muireann Lloyd (39 min), Jenny Irwin for Lauren McCormack (45 min), Jessica Hayes for Saoirse O’Meara (55 min), Aoibheann Clancy for Niamh Ryan (58min).

Panel: Grace O’Donnell, Amy McGovern, Laura Daly, Aine O’Connell, Isabel Finlay, Joan Harty, Zoe O’Meara, Queva O’Meara, Grainne Phelan, Enya Maher, Holly O’Dwyer.

Management: Barry Ryan and Cian Treacy.

Physio’s: Laura Glees

Comments are closed.