Clara GAA Notes

Minor B Football Final

Clara played Na Fianna on Sunday last in the final of the Minor B Football Championship. Luke Dignam got us off to a good start with a well taken point after 2 minutes. A free for Na Fianna and another point by Luke left us 0-2 to 0-1 up after ten mins.

Luke extended the lead to 2 with a free. Clara then got their 1st big break of when a quick free found Luke and he made no mistake when finishing to the net. Na Finanna replied with a point but Luke cancelled his out with another point. David Fleming then got his first point of the match and this put us 6 clear. Na Fianna then got a goal and we led 1-5 to -12 after 20 mins.

Johnny Hanamy got our second goal to put us 6 clear again after 22 mins. Clara could have gone further clear but shot a couple of bad wides, however Mark Newman then got a point and we led 2-6 to 1-2 entering the last five of the half. Adam Owens and Mark got the last two points of the half and we led 2-8 to 1-2 half time.

Na Fianna got the opening score of the second half but three quick points by Mark, Luke and Adam had us 2-11 to 1-3 clear seven mins into the half. Three more points followed through Josh Fleming, David and Mark. Na Fianna also scored three points and we led 2-14 to 1-6 with 12 mins to go. At this stage we were playing very well. Further points followed through Luke and 2 by Josh and we led 2-17 to 1-6 entering the final mins.

Another point by Luke and a very well taken goal by sub Cathal O’Meara had us 3-18 to 1-6 clear. This ended up being the final score of the game and afterwards Dermot Doolan received the cup from our own club secretary Padraig O’Meara who is also the Secretary of Coiste Na Nóg with the county. The Clara team was: Josh Fleming(0-4), Ciaran Doyle, Denis Hackett, Dermot Doolan, Steven Buckley, Colm Doyle, Kieran Hartnett, David Falsey, George Robbins, Jonathon Hanamy(1-0), David Fleming(0-2), Seamus O’Brien, Luke Dignam(1-6, 0-1free), Adam Owens(0-2) and Mark Newman(0-3). Subs: Wesley Johnson for S O’Brien, Conor Egan for J Hanamy, Cathal O’Meara for D Fleming, Brandon Tobella for K Hartnett and Josh McCloskey for M Newman


The draw for the Weekly Club Lotto took place on Sunday night. The numbers drawn were: 14-22-24-29. There was no winner of the Jackpot. Next week’s Jackpot is €13,300

There was 1 Match 3 winner who wins €150 each. This was:

Martin O’Brien

Next week’s draw will take place on Sunday at Bingo.

Comments are closed.