Sinn Fein prepares for next Election in Co Tipperary

Sinn Féin’s preparations for the next local, European and general elections stepped up a gear this week as the party voted to amalgamate its North and South Tipperary Comhairle Ceanntair into one body which will cover the entire county. The amalgamation took place last Sunday in Cashel. 50 delegates from all over Tipperary voted unanimously to combine the party structures into a new all-Tipperary Comhairle Ceanntair. The Chairs from North and South Tipperary, Paul Hayes and Cllr Liam Walsh were elected Chair and Vice Chair respectively. The secretary and assistant secretary are Terry Hunt (Clonmel) and Noel Skehan (Carrick- on- Suir). The officer board comprises of Sinn Féin members from across the county. PRO’s David Dunne (Carrick-on-Suir) and Cllr Martin Brown (Cashel), Treasurers Andreas Fogarty (Cashel) and Cllr David Doran (Thurles). Cllr Seamus Morris (Nenagh), Hazel Hourigan (Nenagh), Lisa Fahy (Carrick-on-Suir), Marcus Fogarty (Cashel), Joan Delaney ( Roscrea), Kevin Brunnick (Cahir). and Tony Black ( Tipperary Town) make up the rest of the committee. After a lively debate on the new tax on the family home it was agreed that this tax is unjust and to support the Sinn Fein TDs legislation to repeal it, Sinn Féin’s councillors in Tipperary will put forward motions on their councils. Going forward the new all Tipperary Comhairle Ceanntair agreed that Sinn Féin will run candidates in all the electoral areas in the upcoming local elections.

Speak Your Mind

Tell us what you're thinking...
and oh, if you want a pic to show with your comment, go get a gravatar!

You must be logged in to post a comment.