Music Network Presents Cappa Ensemble Piano Quartet Cloughjordan Monday 1 November

cappa-ensemble“This young award-winning Belfast pianist has an intuitive feel for music, and can cross musical boundaries effortlessly.” Sunday Business Post on Michael McHale

“Intensely poetic” New Zealand Herald on Bartosz Woroch

“O’Kane’s tender cello solo was welcome balm” on Brian O’Kane

Music Network is delighted to present the exceptional Cappa Ensemble, a quartet of outstanding young artists from Ireland, Poland and the UK, including two former winners of the Camerata Ireland Young Musician of the Year award, Michael McHale and Brian O’Kane. Performing works by Mozart, Walton, Schumann and contemporary Irish composer Elaine Agnew, Cappa Ensemble will perform at St. Kieran’s Church of Ireland, Cloughjordan on Monday 1st November at 8 PM. Tickets priced €12 / €10. Tickets are available from Austin’s Centra and Sheelagh na Gig bookshop, Cloughjordan or by telephoning 0505 42123 Tuesday-Sunday.  This concert is promoted by Music Network and Cloughjordan Community Development Committee. Music Network tours provide a wonderful opportunity to see some of the world’s foremost music ensembles at affordable prices in venues around Ireland and are presented in association with RTÉ lyric fm.  Music Network is funded by the Arts Council. Further information from (01) 671 9429 or

Named after the celebrated 17th-century Italian violin-maker Gioffredo Cappa, this exciting young chamber ensemble has quickly established itself as a quartet of outstanding artistry, equally at home playing classical and contemporary works. Previously a very successful string quartet, in July 2008 the group shifted its focus to performing works for both string trio and piano quartet. It has toured extensively in Australasia and Japan as well as enjoying a busy concert schedule performing to audiences throughout the UK. Cappa Ensemble were awarded a place on Music Network’s Young Musicwide scheme in 2009.

Its four members are all top-notch performers in their own right – and both Brian O’Kane and Michael McHale are former winners of the Camerata Ireland Young Musician of the Year. McHale has established himself as one of the leading Irish pianists of his generation, while cellist O’Kane has collaborated with artists such as the Vanbrugh Quartet, the Philharmonia Orchestra and Vladimir Ashkenazy. Polish violinist Bartosz Woroch has toured with the Bern Symphony Orchestra and the Polish Radio Chamber Orchestra and performed at the Barbican and the Wigmore Hall, and violist Adam Newman has played with the London Steve Reich Ensemble, the English Chamber Orchestra and the London Conchord Ensemble.


Mozart piano quartet in g minor k.478
1. Allegro
2. Andante
3. Rondon

Walton piano quartet in d minor (1921)

1. Allegramente
2. Allegro Scherzando
3. Andante tranquillo
4. Allegro molto


Elaine Agnew string trio – 3 Angry Men (1991).

Schumann piano quartet in E flat Major op.47

1. Sostenuto assai – Allegro ma non troppo 2. Scherzo. Molto vivace – Trio I – Trio II 3. Andante cantabile 4. Finale. Vivace

Comments are closed.