Tipperary v Waterford: Previous Championship meetings

Tipperary V Waterford: Previous Championship Meetings

Played 37, Tipperary won 26. Waterford won 10 and the one draw was in 1933. Waterford won the replay, at Carrick on Suir. Tipperary also received 3 walk overs – 1889, 1895 and 1922.

Last ten meetings:

Date Venue Stage Result Tipp Top Scorer
July 2nd 1989 Páirc Ui Chaoimh Munster Final Tipperary 0-26Waterford 2-8 Nicky English0-13
May 21st 1995 Páirc Ui Chaoimh Munster 1st Rd Tipperary 4-23Waterford 1-11 Pat Fox2-4
June 2nd 1996 Walsh Park Munster 1st Rd Tipperary 1-14Waterford 1-11 Liam Cahill1-2
June 7th 1998 Páirc Ui Chaoimh Munster S/f Waterford 0-21Tipperary 2-12 Eugene O’Neill1-3
May 28th 2000 Páirc Ui Chaoimh Munster 1st Rd Tipperary 0-17Waterford 0-14 Tommy Dunne0-5
June 30th 2002 Páirc Ui Chaoimh Munster Final Waterford 2-23Tipperary 3-12 Benny Dunne2-2
June 6th 2004 Páirc Ui Chaoimh Munster S/f Waterford 4-10Tipperary 3-12 Eoin Kelly2-8
June 4th 2006 Páirc Ui Chaoimh Munster S/f Tipperary 3-14Waterford 1-12 Eoin Kelly2-9
July 7th 2006 Croke Park All-Ireland Q/f Waterford 1-22Tipperary 3-13 Eoin Kelly1-8
August 17th 2008 Croke Park All-Ireland S/f Waterford 1-20Tipperary 1-18 Eoin Kelly 0-8

Previous Munster Final Meetings

6 previous meetings – Tipperary won 4 and Waterford won 2.

1925 at Dungarvan  Tipperary 6-6 Waterford 1-2

1958  at Thurles  Tipperary  4-12 Waterford 1-5

1962 at Limerick  Tipperary 5-14 Waterford 2-3

1963 at Limerick   Waterford 0-11 Tipperary 0-8

1989  at Pairc Ui Chaoimh  Tipperary 0-26 Waterford 2-8

2002  at Pairc Ui Chaoimh   Waterford 2-23 Tipperary 3-12

Last Munster SH Final Meeting June 30th 2002

Waterford 2-23 Tipperary 3-12

WATERFORD: S. Brenner; B. Flannery, T. Feeney, B. Greene; E. Murphy, F. Hartley (capt.), P. Queally; T. Browne, J. Murray; E. Kelly, S. Prendergast, P. Flynn; J. Mullane, K. McGrath, E. McGrath.

Subs: D. Bennett for Flannery (53rd minute); M. White for Flynn (61st); A. Moloney for Prendergast and D. Shanahan for E. McGrath (69th).

TIPPERARY: B. Cummins; T. Costelloe, P. Maher, D. Fahey; E. Corcoran, D. Kennedy, P. Kelly; T. Dunne (capt.), N. Morris; B. O’Meara, C. Gleeson, B. Dunne; E. Kelly, J. Carroll, L. Corbett.

Subs: E. Enright for Morris (43rd minute); P. Ormond for Kennedy (55th); M. O’Leary for Costelloe (58th); P. O’Brien for Gleeson (injured, 62nd).

Scorers: Waterford – P. Flynn 1-6 (1-5 frees); K. McGrath 0-7; J. Mullane 0-4; T. Browne 1-0; E. Kelly 0-3; D. Bennett, E. McGrath and S. Prendergast 0-1 each.

Tipperary: B. Dunne 2-2; E. Kelly 1-4 (1-3 frees); T. Dunne 0-2 (0-1 free); L. Corbett, C. Gleeson, J. Carroll and B. O’Meara 0-1 each.

Referee: A. MacSuibhne (Dublin).

Last Tipp v Waterford Munster Final and Munster Championship games in Thurles:

Tipp and Waterford last played in a Munster Final, at Thurles, on July 6th 1958. In front of a 41,384 attendance Tipp dethroned the Munster champions by 4-12 to 1-5.

The only championship meeting between the counties at Thurles since then was on May 20th 1973, when Tipperary survived an early Waterford scoring burst to win a first round game by 1-16 to 2-8. Jimmy Doyle played in goal for Tipperary on that occasion (his last championship appearance for Tipp) and the respective captains were Francis Loughnane ( Roscrea) and Stephen Greene (Mount Sion).

Speak Your Mind

Tell us what you're thinking...
and oh, if you want a pic to show with your comment, go get a gravatar!

You must be logged in to post a comment.