Tipperary Student Enterprise Awards 2016 Winners

Colaiste Phobal Roscrea and Our Lady’s Secondary School Templemore win the top prizes at the Tipperary Student Enterprise Awards.

Following the County Final of the Student Enterprise Awards which took place at LIT Thurles on Friday last, two Tipperary Schools will progress to represent their County in three categories at  the National Finals taking place in Croke Park on April 20 next.  Over 240 students from across the County competed in the competition which began in second level schools last September and initially involved almost 1800 students. Co-ordinated by the Local Enterprise Office Tipperary, the competition is the most successful programme of its kind in the country with up to 17,000 participants.  Colaiste Phobal Roscrea swept the boards winning both the Senior and Intermediate Awards with Our Lady’s Secondary School in Templemore winning the Junior Award. Jack Kirwan with his innovative water sterilising unit won the Senior Award with Tadgh Nash and his business called 550 Paracord Bracelets scooping the Intermediate award. The Junior category winner was Aisling Meehan with her business Clawbag, a gear bag with a hook for holding hurleys.

This year’s awards were presented by the Cathaoirleach of Tipperary County Council, Seamus Hanafin who delivered the welcome address. Addressing the packed auditorium, Cathaoirleach Seamus Hanafin said that “in Tipperary we have great Entrepreneurs, we just don’t have enough of them. That is why Tipperary County Council through the Local Enterprise Office is seeking to support more young people to select entrepreneurship as a career choice. The Student Enterprise Awards programme plays an important part in this. Nationally more than 17,000 students from 370 secondary schools research and run their own businesses and here in Tipperary today we have 93 of the best showcasing their ideas. By supporting the aspiring entrepreneurs of today the Local Enterprise Office is fostering the job creators of tomorrow”.

Rita Guinan Head of Enterprise who was MC at the event commented “that through these Awards, secondary school students learn important new business and teamwork skills in the classroom that will prepare them for an enterprising future, after school. The educational programme offers students a chance to research, set-up and run their own real-life enterprise, helping to foster an enterprise culture throughout the county”.

During the day in addition to showcasing their businesses Students got an opportunity to hear from Mr. Colin Baker of Back From The Future. Colin appears regularly on Tv3’s Ireland AM and is the Sunday Business Post resident Technology journalist. He outlined for the Students the dream he and his brother had to run their own Technology Store – a place where they could share their love of technology with others, helping people to enjoy and understand it as they did and how they brought that dream to fruition.

The competition carried a prize fund of €3,000 at local level in addition to specially commissioned awards.  The senior competition was judged by Mr Gearoid O’Rourke of A&C Chemicals Ltd,  Ms Aileen McGrath LEO Westmeath and Ms Camelia Shanahan of Meli Bondre who is also President of Network North Tipperary while the Junior and Intermediate categories were adjudicated by Mr Thos Hayes former CEO of the CEB & Ms Patsy Cooney of LIT Thurles.  

LIT Thurles, proved to be an ideal venue for this scale of event combining extensive exhibition space with top class conference facilities creating an energy that on the day that was palpable.


Prize Winners –  Tipperary Student Enterprise Awards 2016

The winners received certificates, specially commissioned awards in addition to cash prizes as follows:-

Prize-winners –  Tipperary Student Enterprise Awards 2016
    Business Name School Team Members
Senior Category 1st Water Sterilising Unit Colaiste Phobal Roscrea Jack Kirwan
  2nd Equi Bib Loreto Secondary School Clonmel Amy Broderick
  3rd Quaestio The Abbey, Tipp Town Mark Costigan, Danny Cunningham,Gavin Downey, Evan Dudley, Adam Glasheen, Tom Hogan
Best Agricultural Award   Grill Guards By Sean The Abbey, Tipp Town Sean Croker
Best Consumer Product   Perfect Pal Ursuline Secondary School, Thurles Rachel Dowling, Sinead Ryan, Siobhan Ryan, Clodagh Ryan, & Rebecca Cole
Best Entrepreneur / Sales Team   Dunmore TY Agri Colaiste Phobal Roscrea Neil Maher & Jack Delaney
Best Innovation Awards   Simple Stationary Solutions Ursuline Secondary School, Thurles Laurene McCarthy, Emma Larkin, Kate Hogan, Sophie Hayes & Zoe Fitzgibbon
Most Artistic Award   Colour Your Story Loreto Secondary School Clonmel Ciara Fanning, Emma Tobin, Michelle Hannigan & Sorcha O’Gorman
Best Display   Three Counties Firewood CBS Carrick on Suir Paul Moore & Shane Holden
Special Merit   Mind My Mind Scoil Ruain, Killenaule Rachel O’Gorman & Caoimhe McMenamin
Special Merit   Little Foot Ursuline Secondary School, Thurles Claire Dempsey, Vanessa Dwan, Doireann Egan & Avril Quirke
Intermediate Category 1st 550 Paracord Bracelets Colaiste Phobal Roscrea Tadgh Nash
  2nd E&T Christmas Outdoor Ornaments Colaiste Mhuire Co-Ed Thurles Evan Donnelly & Thomas Stokes
  3rd Mirror Men Scoil Ruain, Killenaule Cillian White & Paddy Gaynor
Best Stand   Coaster Craze Our Ladys Secondary, Templemore Emma Kelly, Claire Maher, Brona Bergin & Sinead Bergin
Best Business Plan   History of Clonmel Fire Station High School, Clonmel Hugh O Sullivan, Josh King and Connor Grace
Best Craft Award   Dunogarty Wood Products Newport College Michael Dunlea and Michael Fogarty
Merit Award   LH Designs CBS Carrick-on-suir Laurance Hearne
Merit Award   Ballynevin Book CBS Carrick-on-suir Christopher Walsh
Junior Category 1st Clawbag Our Lady’s Secondary School Templemore Aisling Meehan
  2nd Emergency Pack CBS High School Clonmel Adam Looby Anthony Sweeney, James McLoughlin & Michael Dillion
  3rd Tacannah Presentation Secondary School, Clonmel Caoimhe Woods, Tara Malone & Hannah McCabe
Best Stand   Freedom Hats Colaiste Dun Iascaigh Cahir Saoirse Kinsella, Leanne Kelly & Meibh Cowan
Best Business Plan   Independent Chocolate Bar CBS Carrick on Suir Mark McCoy & Adam O Shea
Craft Award   Jays Shillelagh CBS Carrick on Suir Jay Meagher
Merit Award   Serfla St Marys Secondary School Nenagh Sophie Hogan, Weronika Urbanik & Korolina Milek
Merit Award   Spa in a Jar St Marys Secondary School Nenagh Sarah Conroy, Isabelle Mullane, Katie Grace, Hazel O’Dwyer & Deirbhile O’Dwyer

Speak Your Mind

Tell us what you're thinking...
and oh, if you want a pic to show with your comment, go get a gravatar!

You must be logged in to post a comment.