Supervalu Tidytowns – South East Region Awards Ceremony

This year’s SuperValu TidyTowns awards for the South East region were presented yesterday, 7 November, at a prize-giving ceremony in The Golden Thatch, Emly, County Tipperary.  SuperValu TidyTowns winners were presented with their awards by Mr. Fergus O’Dowd, T.D., Minister of State at the Department of the Environment, Community and Local Government and Ray Kelly of SuperValu, proud sponsors of the competition. Also joining the Minister on stage was Ms. Eimear Whittle, Client Services Officer, Fáilte Ireland.


The overall winner for the region is Emly Co. Tipperary.  They also won a Gold Medal and were joined this year in the Gold Medal category by Carlow Town, Clonegal and Leighlinbridge, Co. Carlow, Clonmel, Co. Tipperary, Kilkenny, Co. Kilkenny and Lismore, Co. Waterford.  Other successes in the SuperValu TidyTowns competition include the County Waterford towns of Ardmore, Dungarvan, Stradbally and Waterford City who won Silver Medals. Inistioge and Tullahought, Co. Kilkenny, Kilsheelan, Co. Tipperary and Wexford Town, Co. Wexford won Bronze Medals.  The county winners are Clonegal, Co. Carlow, Kilkenny, Co Kilkenny, Emly, Tipperary (South), Lismore, Co Waterford and Ballycanew, Co Wexford.  A full list of today’s prize-winners is attached.


Speaking at the awards ceremony Minister O’Dowd said:  “I’m delighted to have this opportunity today to acknowledge the efforts of TidyTowns groups across this region, and to pay tribute to the very many enthusiastic and dedicated volunteers who get involved in this competition year on year regardless of the weather conditions.  The unselfish effort and the generosity displayed by these volunteers really does make a difference to our communities.  The results of their hard work is evident across the region in towns and villages that are more attractive, better cared for, better places to live and more appealing places to visit.  I would like to pay tribute to all the other TidyTowns groups not here today who are also committed to improve their communities year on year and have not yet achieved formal recognition in the competition.  All TidyTowns groups take pride in their communities.  I’d like to congratulate Emly; the overall winner for the South East region as well as all of today’s other prize-winners.”

The Minister also thanked TidyTowns’ sponsor SuperValu.   “I would like to thank SuperValu for their sponsorship of this competition. This is SuperValu’s twenty first year of involvement in the SuperValu TidyTowns competition at local and national level and they have helped this competition to flourish and grow and continue to demonstrate a real commitment to supporting local communities. “


Ray Kelly, Marketing Director, SuperValu said: “SuperValu TidyTowns is the public expression of the work countless individuals undertake to build community spirit and make their local area a better place to live.  SuperValu together with its countrywide network of local retailers is committed to helping build and support vibrant local communities.  I am delighted to congratulate this year’s winners and to recognise the commitment and dedication of TidyTowns committees in the South East region who make such a real difference at a local level.  Your dedication is an inspiration to communities everywhere and illustrates the real benefits of pulling together for the greater good of the place we call home.”


Interest in the SuperValu TidyTowns competition has been stronger than ever in recent years.  For a second year communities were encouraged to ‘Get Your Hands Dirty for TidyTowns’ in a promotional campaign by the Department of the Environment, Community and Local Government and competition sponsors SuperValu.  The response to this call was overwhelming with a record 855 communities entering this year’s competition – an increase from 821 entries last year.


The TidyTowns competition has been running since 1958 and is organised by the Department of the Environment, Community and Local Government.  The competition has been sponsored by SuperValu since 1992.


A list of all the prize-winners for the South East region is attached.



SuperValu TidyTowns – South East Region – Overall Winner


Recipient County Award
Emly Tipperary Regional Winner



SuperValu TidyTowns – South East Region – Medallists in National Awards


Recipient County Award
Carlow Carlow Gold Medal
Clonegal Carlow Gold Medal
Clonmel Tipperary Gold Medal
Emly Tipperary Gold Medal
Kilkenny Kilkenny Gold Medal
Leighlinbridge Carlow Gold Medal
Lismore Waterford Gold Medal
Ardmore Waterford Silver Medal
Dungarvan Waterford Silver Medal
Stradbally Waterford Silver Medal
Waterford Waterford Silver Medal
Inistioge Kilkenny Bronze Medal
Kilsheelan Tipperary Bronze Medal
Tullahought Kilkenny Bronze Medal
Wexford Wexford Bronze Medal




SuperValu TidyTowns – South East Region – County Awards

Recipient County Award
Clonegal Carlow County Winner
Leighlinbridge Carlow Highly Commended
Carlow Carlow Commended
Borris Carlow Endeavour *
Kilkenny Kilkenny County Winner
Inistioge Kilkenny Highly Commended
Tullahought Kilkenny Commended
Thomastown Kilkenny Endeavour *
Emly Tipperary (South) County Winner
Clonmel Tipperary (South) Highly Commended
Kilsheelan Tipperary (South) Commended
Mullinahone Tipperary (South) Endeavour *
Lismore Waterford County Winner
Ardmore Waterford Highly Commended
Stradbally Waterford Commended
Ardmore Waterford Endeavour *
Ballycanew Wexford County Winner
Craanford Wexford Highly Commended
Rosslare Wexford Commended
Duncormick Wexford Endeavour *

* Endeavour Award winners are those who achieved the greatest improvement in score in 2012





SuperValu TidyTowns – South East Region – Special Awards


Recipient County Award
Ballyduff Wexford Best Bring Bank Award
Wexford Town Wexford Gum Litter TaskForce – Large Town Winner
Kilkenny Kilkenny Tourism Town Award
Emly Tipperary Climate Change Award


Speak Your Mind

Tell us what you're thinking...
and oh, if you want a pic to show with your comment, go get a gravatar!

You must be logged in to post a comment.