Rowers takes top award at Canon Hayes Sports Awards

World and European Rowing Champions, Mark O’Donovan and Shane O’Driscoll, Racehorse Trainer Jessica Harrington, The Tipperary Ladies Intermediate Football Team, Ladies Sevens Rugby Player, Amee-Leigh Murphy Crowe and Tyrone Footballer, Seán Cavanagh were the big winners at the Canon Hayes Awards in Tipperary last night, Friday December 8th.
These awards which are recognised as being one of the most prestigious in the country are in their 22nd year and the Canon Hayes Centre Chairman, Martin Quinn, paid tribute to all who had supported them over that period. He said that they were a great celebration of sport on a local, county and national basis and that they were unique and the only one of their kind in the country. The Awards were inaugurated in 1996 and over the years they have grown in importance and significance and are now rightfully regarded as being the most prestigious of their kind in the country.
Rowers takes top award at Canon Hayes Sports Awards

Seated (l to r), Mary Dorgan, Sport Ireland, Amee-Leigh Murphy Crowe (Rugby), Samantha Lambert (Tipperary Ladies Football Captain), Kate Harrington (Racehorse Trainer), Cllr. Michael Fitzgerald, Cathaoirleach, Cashel/Tipperary Municipal District.

There was a great air of celebration on the night with the presence of the Ambassador from Pakistan and representatives from the Defence Forces, Gardai, Local Authorities, Sport Ireland, Olympic Council of Ireland, FAI Junior Council, Athletics Ireland and Tipperary Association Dublin.

The TASK National Award on the night went to World and European Rowing Champions, Mark O’Donovan and Shane O’Driscoll, who received their Award from Mary Dorgan, Sport Ireland. The other category nominees were the Irish Under 20 European gold and bronze medalists and John Fitzsimons, bronze medalist was there to accept their category award, while the Dublin Ladies Senior Football Team was represented by Shane O’Hanlon, Dublin GAA.
The IPB County Award went to the Tipperary Ladies Intermediate Football Team who won the All-Ireland this year, ahead of athlete Seán Tobin and jockey Rachael Blackmore.
The Tipperary Credit Union Local Award went to Ladies Sevens Rugby Player, Amee-Leigh Murphy Crowe. Also in contention for this award were athlete Stuart Moloney and the Éire Óg Annacarty-Donohill camogie club.
The GN Ballykisteen Hotel Outstanding Achievement Award went to racehorse trainer Jessica Harrington and was accepted on the night by Jessica’s daughter Kate, who is a jockey in her own right and Assistant Trainer at Commonstown.
Rowers takes top award at Canon Hayes Sports Awards

Standing (l to r) Mark O’Donovan and Shane O’Driscoll (Rowing), Paddy Turner (Clonmel FC), Denis Toomey (Para Athletics), Seán Cavanagh, (Tyrone Football), Martin Quinn (Canon Hayes Centre Chairman) and Shane Roynane (Tipperary Ladies Football Manager)

The Mick Doyle Golden Memory Award went to former Tyrone football star, Seán Cavanagh, who was acknowledged for his 16 year inter-county career which saw him win 3 All-Ireland medals and numerous honours.

Paddy Turner from Clonmel Town FC was the very popular winner of the Canon Hayes/Tipperary Sports Partnership Volunteer in Sport Award, receiving his Award from Valerie Connolly of the Tipperary Sports Partnership and Mary Dorgan, representing Sport Ireland.
There was also a special recognition award on the night for the Irish Team at the Para Athletic World Championships for their 7 medal haul, and the award was accepted by Chef de Mission at the Rio 2016 Paralympic Games, Denis Toomey.
It was a hugely successful 22nd Awards which brought a full house to Ballykisteen Hotel and Golf Resort.

Speak Your Mind

Tell us what you're thinking...
and oh, if you want a pic to show with your comment, go get a gravatar!

You must be logged in to post a comment.