Rural Independent’s Dáil Motion On Road Funding Set To Receive Wide Support – Mattie McGrath

Independent TD Mattie McGrath has said there must be an urgent and sustained focus on the upgrading, safety improvement and maintenance of national, regional and secondary roads. Deputy McGrath was speaking ahead of Wednesday’s Dáil debate on a Private Members Motion on roads and roads’ funding that is being initiated by the Rural Independent Group of which he is a member:

“This Motion represents a key opportunity for the government to commit to the ambitious programme for roads that our group is proposing.

What we are seeking is a full recognition of the importance of Regional and local roads which are crucial to economic activity and essential for fairer regional development.

This will involve a renewed focus on the need to put in place a more balanced spatial distribution and the speedy delivery of the planned upgrading of our national road network.

At a more local and pragmatic level we want to see among other things a commitment to reversing the shortage of outdoor council staff that have not been replaced over the last number of years.

I will be prioritising the urgent need to address the N24 Limerick to Waterford Road as well as the absolutely appalling condition of the roads in Tipperary town as well as its overwhelming need for a bypass.

I accept that in the interim period for 2017 €320,000 has been allocated to County Tipperary by Minister Shane Ross for road safety improvement projects.

This will include €100,000 for the Fortmoy Junction and €75,000 to address the persistent problems caused by the raised roundabout and urban road on the junction of the R660.

I am looking forward to our Motion receiving considerable support from government and non-government parties and members given how urgent this issue for is for all parts of the state, but particularly for rural Ireland,” concluded Deputy McGrath. 

The Rural Independent Group is comprised of Deputies Mattie McGrath, Michael Collins, Noel Grealish, Michael Harty, Danny Healy Rae, Michael Healy Rae, Michael Lowry.

Speak Your Mind

Tell us what you're thinking...
and oh, if you want a pic to show with your comment, go get a gravatar!

You must be logged in to post a comment.