Tipperary V Waterford Munster SHC snippets of knowledge

Oldest and Youngest

 Brendan Cummins, who was born on May 11th 1975, is the oldest player on the Tipperary SH panel while Sean Curran, who was born on the September 15th 1991, an honour he took this year from Noel McGrath who remains second youngest on the panel.


Family Ties

Captain Paul Curran and his brother Sean are both on the panel as are Shane and Donagh Maher. John Coghlan’s brother Hugh is vice-captain on the senior football panel. Noel McGrath’s brother John is on the minor hurling and football panels. Their first cousins Liam and Aidan McGrath are also on the under 21 hurling panel and Liam captained the Tipperary minor football team to All Ireland success last year. Padraic Maher’s brother Ronan is on the minor hurling panel and his first cousin, Denis Maher is on the under 21 hurling panel. Patrick Maher’s brother Willie, Tom Stapleton’s brother Brian and Brian O’Meara’s brother, Niall are all on the under 21 hurling panel. Pa Bourke and Johnny Ryan on the senior panel are first cousins as are Gearóid and Adrian Ryan.


 Average Age

 25 is the average age of the Tipperary senior hurling panel at present. There are seven players over 30 on the panel and none under 20.


Previous Munster Final Meetings

1925 at Dungarvan          Tipperary 6-6 Waterford 1-2

1958 at Thurles               Tipperary 4-12 Waterford 1-5

1962 at Limerick               Tipperary 5-14 Waterford 2-3

1963 at Limerick                Waterford 0-11 Tipperary 0-8

1989 at Pairc Ui Chaoimh Tipperary 0-26 Waterford 2-8

2002 at Pairc Ui Chaoimh   Waterford 2-23 Tipperary 3-12

2009 at Semple Stadium   Tipperary 4-14 Waterford 2-16

2011 at Pairc ui Chaoimh Tipperary 7-19 Waterford 0-19


Successful outings


Tipperary have appeared in 64 Munster Finals and won 39.There have been many memorable occasions over the years but for those who were there it would be hard to match the emotion of Killarney on July 19th 1987 – the day the Tipperary captain and Dublin selector of recent years, Richard Stakelum, proudly declared ‘’The famine is over’’.



Goals galore


Lar Corbett ,who came on as a substitute scored his first Championship goal against Waterford in their 2006 Munster semi final meeting at Pairc Ui Chaoimh. Lar has faced The Decies on six occasions in the Championship and scored a total of 7-10 against them.  He was top scorer in last year’s Final, at Pairc Ui Chaoimh, with an impressive 4-4 to his name.




Long ago


Brendan Cummins made his senior championship debut v. Waterford in the first round game at Pairc Ui Chaoimh, on May 21st 1995. Tipp had an easy win on that occasion. Overall Brendan has played against Waterford on eleven occasions, in the championship, winning six times and losing five. He kept a clean sheet in the 1998, 2000 and 2011 clashes, all of which were played at Pairc Ui Chaoimh.


 Number crunching

 The attendance at last year’s Munster final – same teams , same venue-  was 36,654 while 40,330 were at Semple Stadium for the 2009 decider. The Decies’ breakthrough win in 2002 brought  40,276 patrons to Pairc Ui Chaoimh. Their previous final meeting in 1989 also at Pairc Ui Chaoimh drew a crowd of only 30,241. While that was the 100th Munster Final and Waterford had beaten Clare and Cork to qualify, the ‘live’ television broadcast kept many people at home. After that Final, the Tipp Captain Bobby Ryan received the Munster Cup from Provincial Chairman and former Tipp full back, Michael Maher. Bobby was the first Tipp captain to lift the cup in Cork since his uncle Pat Stakelum RIP had done so in 1949.


 Big interest

 The 2008 All Ireland Semi final meeting at Croke Park produced a record championship crowd of 53,635 for a Tipperary v. Waterford fixture.


 Surprise Results

 Waterford have a history of surprising Tipperary in major games, when the Premier County are favourites. Examples are the 1959 Munster Semi final in Cork, when Tipp were defending Munster and All Ireland Champions ( 9-3 to 3-4), the 1963 Munster final at Limerick when Tipp, who had trounced Waterford in the previous two finals, at the Gaelic Grounds, lost both Munster and All Ireland titles (0-11 to 0-8), the NHL’’ Home’’ Final same year  ( 2-15  to 4-7 ),  the 1983 Munster semi final in Cork, when Tipp were on the way back having beaten Clare in the first round, but were surprised ( 4-13 to 2-15), 1998 semi final at Cork ,when Tipp had been Munster and All Ireland runners up to Clare the previous year (0-21 to 2-12), the 2002 Munster final in Cork when Tipp, the reigning All Ireland champions, were again relieved of their Munster title, as Waterford won their first in thirty nine years, with an unstoppable late surge of scoring (2-23 to 3-12), the 2006 All Ireland quarter final at Croke Park, when Waterford overturned an eight point loss in Munster (1-22 to 3-13) and of course the 2008 All Ireland Semi Final, when the White and Blue inflicted the only defeat of the year on Tipp  (1-20 to 1-18).


 Tipp v Waterford in Cork

 Tipperary and Waterford have met in the Championship at Cork (Cork Athletic Grounds or Pairc Ui Chaoimh) on 14 occasions – Tipperary have won 9 and Waterford 5.  Dating back to 1998, Waterford have won 3 of the last 6 matches with Tipperary that were played at Pairc Ui Chaoimh.


 Second bite

 2006 was unusual in Waterford /Tipp rivalry, because it was only the second time the counties had more than one meeting in the championship, the same year. (There was a Waterford win in a 1933 replay). Tipp won the Munster Semi final meeting in Cork in June, by 3-14 to 1-12 on a day that Waterford had several injury problems and Lar Corbett scored his first championship goal against them. Waterford came back to get their revenge in a Croke Park Quarter final, hitting an impressive 1-22 to win by 3 points. Their season ended in agonising circumstances when Cork beat them by 1-16 to 1-15 in the semi final.


 Goal less

  In the history of this championship rivalry, there have only been two games which failed to produce a goal. The 1963 Munster final and the first round meeting in 2000 were the only occasions that there was no green flag. There has been an average of just over 5 goals per game over the 38 championship matches. There were 7 in the last championship encounter in 2011 and 4 in 2010.


Next game

The winners of the Tipperary v Waterford game will qualify for the All Ireland semi-finals and the losers qualify for the All Ireland quarter-finals.

Speak Your Mind

Tell us what you're thinking...
and oh, if you want a pic to show with your comment, go get a gravatar!

You must be logged in to post a comment.