14 County Senior Cross Country Titles for Dundrum Athletic Club

Sunday 18th December in Gooldscross the club piped Nenagh Olympic by one point to recapture the Tipperary Senior Mens Cross Country title. This was a great victory for the club who were pushed all the way by the Nenagh lads who were defending their title won over the same course the year before.

In regaining their title Dundrum were winning it for the 14th time in their 51 year history, with their first victory in Two-Mile Borris in 1966.

For the record the breakdown of their titles is: NACAI 1966, 1967, 1992, 1995, 1996, 1997 and 1999. BLE 1968, 1969 and 1971. AAI 2005, 2006, 2007 and 2011. The club is the only one in the county to have won the senior mens title in all three associations.

Three athletes while wearing the black and amber of Dundrum have won the race. These athletes are Mick Hickey with 4 titles, Billy O’Dwyer with 2 and Pat Ryan with 1. Pat also has the record of gold team medals with the club with a total of 7.

On the family front the Keane brothers Donal and Martin have been on four winning teams together. While the latest victory had Kevin Moore joining his father John who was on two winning teams in the nineties

The club also has a proud record of never been out of the top 3 clubs in the race for the past 21 consecutive years been first 9 times, second 8 times and third on 4 occasions.

1966 Senior Cross Country Champions Back L-R: Willie O’Gorman, Jack Bergin, Mick Hickey, Michael Kavanagh. Front L-R: Seanie Kelly, Paddy Keogh, George Mossive (RIP), Davy Ryan Club Chairman. Photo Credit John Joy

2011 Senior Cross Country Champions Back L-R: Michael Ryan, Liam Butler, Donal Keane, Willie O’Dwyer and Graham Butler. Front L-R: Martin Keane, Kevin Moore, Micheal Coen, Padraig Coen, Michael Moore and James Ryan. Photo Credit Ross and Matt Alexander

Speak Your Mind

Tell us what you're thinking...
and oh, if you want a pic to show with your comment, go get a gravatar!

You must be logged in to post a comment.