LDYC sailor, Eoin Keller wins the Irish Laser National Championships in the Laser Radial fleet at Lough Derg Yacht Club

LDYC sailor, Eoin Keller won the Irish Laser National Championships in the Laser Radial fleet. This is the first time in thirty years that a laser sailor has won the National Championship at their home club.

Lough Derg Yacht Club hosted the Irish Laser National Championship from 25 to 28 August.  A total of 151 sailors participated in the event.  Sailors travelled from all over Ireland and the UK to race in the event. The Laser class has three rig categories according to the sail size: the 4.7 Lasers (48 boats), the Laser Radials (71 boats) and the Standard or full rigs (32 boats).

Hosting a National event for such a large fleet requires considerable organisation, both on and off the water.  LDYC Sailing Secretary, Michael McCarney, said that the “seventy plus volunteers, helping out at the event, ensured four great days of racing”.  He said that the “wildly varying weather conditions provided quite a challenge for sailors and race management”.  He added that “events such as this help to promote tourism and the local economy of this scenic area”.

The Principal Race Officer for the event was John Lefroy.  He conducted the races from his boat the ‘Phoenix’, and managed to get ten races in very changeable weather conditions.  Liam Moloney and his team managed the finishing line on his yacht, ‘Synergy’.  John Lefroy said that he was “very impressed with the mark laying and rescue”, and added that “the sailors were well tired at the end of the four days as I set demanding courses.  Competitors at this level want to be stretched at these events”. Jack Bayly and Teresa Hassey collated and posted the race results promptly every day.

Club Manager Claire Toohey coordinated Safety and Rescue for the Championship.  This is a vital task, and Claire’s organisational skills were very much in evidence.  Claire commented that her brief was made easier by “top notch, well-trained local rescue crew, who did a superb job in quite testing conditions”.

Summing up at the prize-giving, LDYC Commodore Lucy Sanders said, “I was impressed by the number of members who gave of their time to help out, particularly the younger members, who are the future of this Club”.  She went on to praise the work of the shore crew, including  P. Keller and his helpers who efficiently managed the launch and recovery of boats, and Anne Atkinson and her team, who ensured the visitors were looked after with the hospitality for which the Club is well known.

LDYC Laser Radial Sailor Eoin Keller
LDYC sailor, Eoin Keller won 1st place the in the Laser Radial fleet, this is the first time in thirty years that a laser sailor has won the National Championship in their home club.  Eoin was introduced to sailing in the Schools Sailing Programme at LDYC.  Later, he completed his ISA training on the annual July sailing courses at the club.  He has since gone on to achieve huge success, representing his club and his country at international events.  In May of this year he won 3rd prize in the ISA Mitsubishi Youth National Championship in Dunlaoghaire.  In July he was placed 9th in the Laser Radials in the Europa Cup in Waremunde in Germany, and 78th (10th in the Silver Fleet) in the Laser Radial World Championship at La Rochelle in France.

Eleanor Hooker

RESULTS Irish Laser National Championship 2011

Laser 4.7

1st Seafra Guilfoyle – Royal Cork Yacht Club
2nd Cian Byrne – Royal Cork Yacht Club
3rd Eoin Curran – East Down Yacht

LDYC 4.7 Laser Sailors

23rd Aisling Keller
26th Sorcha Holohan
28th Darragh Hassey
29th Andrew Levie
44th John Riordan
45th Rosie Donnellan
46th Sarah Cooney

Laser Radial

1st Eoin Keller – Lough Derg Yacht Club
2nd Robbie Gilmore – Strangford Lough Yacht Club
3rd Finn Lynch – National Yacht Club

LDYC Laser Radial Sailors

21st Alfred Guy
25th Georgina Corbett
39th William Hooker
55th Conall Holohan
62nd Emma Cooney
70th JJ O’Neill
71st Eoin Ryan

Standard Laser Sailors

1st James Espey – Royal Ulster Yacht Club
2nd Ryan Seaton – Carrickfergus Sailing Club
3rd Matthew O’Dowd – Royal St. George Yacht Club

Speak Your Mind

Tell us what you're thinking...
and oh, if you want a pic to show with your comment, go get a gravatar!

You must be logged in to post a comment.