Carrick Roadrunners Club Notes 11th July Piltown 10k this Friday

The fourth annual Piltown 10k road race will take place on this Friday, July 15th at 7:30pm.This is the third of four races in the 2011 Outfield Sports Three-Counties Challenge and the only 10k race in the series.The first two races have seen very large entries and this trend is expected to continue with this very popular race which is run over a beautiful course. Entry for the race is €10 and registration will be at the Piltown GAA Complex from 6:30pm where changing and shower facilities will be available.The race will start across the road from the GAA centre at the main entrance to Kildalton Horticultural College.The first 2k of the race takes runners through the scenic college grounds before the route heads out onto quiet country roads.The final kilometre will be back on the College avenue, ensuring a safe ‘off-road’ finish.Post-race refreshments and prize-giving will be at the GAA centre.
Due to the large number of stewards required for the safe running of this race, we are asking any club members who are not participating in the race to lend a hand on the night.Contact Mark (086-1608165) if you are available.
Coillte Dundrum 10k
A record field of 215 runners lined up for the Coillte Dundrum 10k on Wednesday last.Just two of our members made the trip for this race.Theresa Cunningham clocked a time of 45:55 and Ann Cronin came home in 52:35.Well done to both ladies.
GlaxoSmithkline Dungarvan 5
The GlaxoSmithkline 5-mile road race in Dungarvan always provides runners with an ideal opportunity to achieve a personal best time for the distance as the course is very flat and fast.Many of our runners travelled to Dungarvan with that objective on Friday last when 252 athletes lined up for this year’s renewal.Carrick’s Brian Murphy has established a good lead in the overall series with some excellent recent victories but it was Raivis Zakis (West Waterford) who proved the stronger on Friday with a winning time of 25:50 ahead of Brian (26:07) and Frank Quinlan (Waterford AC).The ladies’ race was won by Angela McCann (Clonmel AC) in 29:53.Carrick AC’s first athlete to finish was David Waters who was eighth in 28:23.Tommy Falconer was twelfth in 28:54, while our first lady finisher was Ger Houlihan (39:46)
Carrick AC finishers:
2nd Brian Murphy 26:07 ; 8th David Waters 28;23 ; 12th Tommy Falconer 28:54 ; Michael Murphy 29:36 ; Brendan Cronin 30:08 ; Patrick Roche 30:52 ; Michael O’ Connell 31:08 ; Seamus Wartd 32:46 ; Mark Connolly 33:01 ; Ger Houlihan 39:46 ; Sean O’ Donovan 40:24 ; Ann Cronin 41:10 ; Catherine O’ Donovan 43:07. Well done to all our runners.
Carrick Athletics Club extends sincere sympathy to the family and friends of Mary Cunningham, Bawngarriff, who passed to her eternal reward last week.May she rest in peace.

Speak Your Mind

Tell us what you're thinking...
and oh, if you want a pic to show with your comment, go get a gravatar!

You must be logged in to post a comment.