North Tipperary Schoolchildren’s Soccer season starts this weekend

By Bobby Lynch, NTSFL PRO

This Saturday 18th September, sees the kickoff of the 2010/11 North Tipperary Schoolchildren’s football league season for the 17 member clubs of the league.

Fixtures at u12, u14 and u16 division levels will be played at various venues across North Tipperary.
Saturday 25th September sees the 1st games for u11, u13 and u15 age groups while the u10s begin on Saturday October 2nd.
According To Tomas Ryan, newly elected Chairperson, NTSFl, ‘’ we are looking forward to a busy but enjoyable  schedule of league games fro0m now till the end of the season. As well as having 15 league divisions at ages u10, u11, u12, u13, u14, u15 and u16 while some member  clubs have entered the SFAI national cups, and our the NTSFL knockout cup competition will take place later on in the season’’.
An Emerging Talent Programme also run by the league in association with the FAI programme assisted locally by James Scott, FAI North Tipperary Development Officer.
League Emerging Talent Co-ordinator, Dave Rooney highlighted some recent  progress in this area.  ‘’2 u13 teams representing the league took part in the  Umbro- Galway cup during the summer and won the 1st piece of silverware for the league, while our u13 Kennedy cup squad finished 30th overall in the renowned June event at UL. The u12’s league team came 2nd in the Cashin cup, while this past season we also introduced an u10 futsal programme at 4 venues where 90 players took part’’.
Dates, times and venues for u11, u12 and u13 trials for this year’s Emerging talent programme are:
Sunday 19 September:
U11s (born 1999) Nenagh AFC, 12 noon to 2.00pm
U12s (born 1998) Newtown FC, 2.00 to 4.00pm
U13s (born 1997) Newtown FC, 2.00 to 4.00pm
Sunday 26 September:
U11s (born 1999) Nenagh AFC, 12 noon to 2.00pm
U12s (born 1998) Garda Sports Complex Templemore, 2.00 to 4.00pm
U13s (born 1997) Garda Sports Complex Templemore,  2.00 to 4.00pm
Sunday 3 October:
U11s (born 1999) Nenagh AFC, 12 noon to 2.00pm
U12s (born 1998)  Ardcroney FC,  2.00 to 4.00pm
U13s (born 1997)  Ardcroney FC,  2.00 to 4.00pm

Founded in 1981 as the North Tipperary Schoolboy Football League, at its recent end of season AGM, member league clubs voted to change its name to North Tipperary Schoolchildren’s Football League, reflecting according to Cheryl Hayes, League Secretary that ‘’girls can play in this league from u10 to u13 level and make a valuable contribution to many member clubs. It could also provide a membership boost by encouraging more girls to play and join their local club’.
The leagues website, will continue to provide an information focal point for clubs where results, fixtures, league tables, news, and more will be displayed.
A new addition for clubs this season is an opportunity to have their weekly club notes put in a  new ‘’club corner’’ news item. A Club secretary or PRO can email League PRO, Bobby Lynch, with their clubs news details.
Clubs when registering teams for the new season that a new Registrar, Mick Ryan (Templemore FC) has replaced the outgoing Tom Quinlan (Moneygall) who served for 5 years as league Registrar.
The 2010/11 League Committee is: Tomas Ryan, Chairperson, Cheryl Hayes, Secretary, Paddy Duffy Treasurer (Executive officers), Denny Ryan, Fixtures Secretary, Bobby Lynch, PRO, Dave Rooney, Emerging Talent Co-ordinator, John Delaney, Assistant Treasurer, Tony 0’ Sullivan, SFAI delegate and Jamie Gilmour while Phyllis Coughlin, Child Protection Officer and Mick Ryan, Registrar support the committee in their respective roles.
2010/11 member clubs of the league are: Ardcroney, Arra Rovers, Ballymackey, Birdhill, Borrisokane, Cloughjordan, Holycross, Lough Derg, Moneygall, Nenagh AFC, Nenagh Celtic, Puckane United, Rearcross, Sallypark Odhrans, Shinrone, Silvermines, and Templemore.
NTSFL League Fixtures for opening day, Saturday September 18th are:
U12 Premier
Ballymackey v Birdhill 10.30
Moneygall v L Derg 12.30
Nenagh AFC v Puckane 10.30

U12 Div 1
Arra v Cloughjordan 12.30
L Derg B v Nenagh AFC B 12
Nenagh Celtic v Sallypark 12

U14 Premier
Ballymackey v Birdhill 12
L Derg v Nenagh AFC 10.30

U14 Div 1
Nenagh AFC B v L Derg B 12
Nenagh Celtic v Rearcross 10.30

U16 Premier
Arra v Ballymackey 10.30
Moneygall v L Derg 10.30
Nenagh AFC A v Nenagh AFC B TBA
Templemore v Nenagh Celtic 10.30
Clubs are reminded that there is a strict deadline to text all results 7pm on game day, to Denny Ryan, NTSFL Fixtures Secretary at 087-9162948.

Speak Your Mind

Tell us what you're thinking...
and oh, if you want a pic to show with your comment, go get a gravatar!

You must be logged in to post a comment.