Co. Tipperary HSE Community Games GAA Finals

The Co. Tipperary HSE Community Games GAA Finals were held at the weekend in Semple Stadium in glorious conditions. A huge debt of gratitude is owed to Michael Egan and the Committee of Semple Stadium who year after year allow our Gaelic team’s access to this magnificent Stadium for the County Finals. Part of the joy of getting to a Community Games County Final for these young hurlers, footballers and camogie players is running out onto the hallowed turf of Semple Stadium just like their hero’s, the inter-county players who represent Tipperary. The tip-top condition of the pitch at the weekend is all down to the hard work of the groundsmen and our thanks go to them and to Philly for the tireless effort they put in on our behalf.

dscf0306The surprise package of the day was without a shadow of a doubt the Boys Under 10 Gaelic Football team from Roscrea who faced the might of Powerstown/Lisronagh. Having won the County Finals on numerous occasions Powerstown/Lisronagh were hot favourites to win again, however, the boys from Roscrea had other plans. Despite playing against the wind in the first half, Roscrea quickly took the lead with points from midfield powerhouse Glen Loughnane, Conor Nolan and Eoin Dooley which were quickly followed by a goal from the deceptively diminutive Luke Seacy. Powerstown/Lisronagh who played with the wind in the first half had the young Roscrea backs under pressure. Captain Luke Cashin lead by example with his commanding presence under the high dropping ball, Dylan Hogan and Lorcan O’Meara got in some superb clearances with Gavin Meagher helping Eoin Harte to clear his lines. Roscrea lead at half-time 1-3 to 1-1. In the second half Darragh Tynan (nephew of former inter-county footballer Liam England) sent some fantastic ball into the forwards which was capitalised on by Eoin Dooley and substitute Dean Pyne when they scored 1 goal each. Jamie Ryan (son of former inter-county footballer Brendan) who had a great game at wing forward scored a point and Glen Loughnane finished off his day with a point from a free and another goal to claim the County title with an eventual scoreline of Roscrea 4-7, Powerstown/Lisronagh 1-1. Teams: Roscrea: Eoin Harte, Dylan Hogan, Luke Cashin, Conor Donovan, Lorcan O’Meara, Gavin Meagher, Aidan Booth, Darragh Tynan, Glen Loughnane, Conor Nolan, Owen Tynan, Michael Walsh, Luke Seacy, Eoin Dooley, Dylan Buckley, Jack Lee, Dean Pyne, Rian Lee, Gerry Cahir and Jamie. They were managed by Paul Booth, Ger Dooley, Tony Pyne and Ger Fitzgerald with help from Donal Hogan and Liam Nolan.

The Girls Under 14 was a very tight affair with St. Flannan’s of Moneygall facing Cahir. St. Flannan’s were the team displaying the early form with Eimear Teehan showing well at corner forward. Aisling Moloney for Cahir dominated midfield with Keely Halpin having to make some good saves. St. Flannan’s lead 1-4 to 1-1 at half-time. In the second half Cahir found their scoring boots with Roisin Howard the mainstay of the team having a very impressive game. St. Flannan’s goalkeeper Clodagh Jones showed her excellent reflexes when she pulled off a fantastic save near the end and Mairead Teehan was extremely commanding in her role of sweeper. The lead changed hands on a couple of occasions with Cahir emerging victorious on a scoreline of 2-9 to St. Flannan’s 1-9. St. Flannan’s team: Eimear Teehan, Aoife Deane, Monica Kirwan, Eimear Ryan, Mary Teehan, Mairead Teehan, Clodagh Jones, Grace Toohey, Ciara O’Brien, Aoife Flaherty, Sara Earley, Orlaith Murray, Aimee Ryan, Orlaith Cleary, Leanne O’Brien and Grace Sutton. Cahir: Joyce Arbuckle, Alina Neumerzhitza, Rachel O’Dwyer, Eaodain O’Gorman, Carol Carey, Aoife Collins, Roisin Howard, Roisin Costigan, Keely Halpin, Katie Farrell, Jemma Went, Aoife Corcoran, Aisling Moloney, Dearbhla Buckley, Kirsty Arbuckle and Laura Casey.

The Girls Under 12 Gaelic Football final was a hotly contested match between Thurles and Cahir. There was nothing between these two teams in the first half with Thurles leading 2points to 1 at half-time. Andrea O’Donnell, Roisin McCarthy and Dervla Buckley were very industrious throughout for Cahir with Nora Kennedy showing well for Thurles. In what was to be the lowest scoring game of the day Cahir emerged the eventual winners 1-2 to Thurles 2points. Thurles: Marie Greedon, Bridget Delaney, Shauna Jordan, Niamh Kennedy, Sadbh Leahy, Emily Loughnane, Hazel Maher, Niamh McCarthy, Niamh Mooer, Bridin Murphy, Holly O’Dwyer, Melanie O’Halloran, Emma Jordan, Ciara Calvin, Ciara Cosgrave, Katie Kelly, Jade Byrne and Claire Ryan. Cahir: Rachel O’Donnell, Andrea O’Donnell, Emma Quirke, Roisin McCarthy, Dervla Buckley, Sarah Burke, Orla Cashman, Laura Noonan, Katie Noonan, Emily O’Donovan, Lauren Fitzgerald, Chantelle Pyke, Sadie Kirwan, Leah Donoghue, Judita Jankaskaite, Laura Kairyte, Emma Walsh, Melanie Deverant and Allanah Donaghy.

dscf0316So onto the last game of the day with Toomevara taking on Powerstown/Lisronagh in the Boy Under 11 Hurling Final and to use an old cliché this was a game of two halves. With some very impressive displays from Jack Ryan, Jack Cullen and Ciaran Grace Toomevara lead Powerstown/Lisronagh 3points to 1 at half-time. In the second half it was a completely different story with Toomevara outscoring Powerstown/Lisronagh 3-3 to 0. Powerstown/Lisronagh threw everything they had at Toomevara but to no avail, there was no way through Toome’s midfield or half-back line. Toomevara ran out winners 3-6 to 1 point. Toomevara: Anthony Maher, Robert Delaney, Kevin McCarthy, Seamus O’Farrell, Conor Grace, Jack Cullen, Mike Delaney, Jack Ryan, Gerard Quigley, Thomas O’Farrell, Shane O’Meara, Rory Brislane, David Brady, Aidan White, Cathal Ryan, Christopher O’Meara, Damien Bergin, Darragh Spillane, Ciaran Grace and Stephen Frend. Powerstown/Lisronagh: David Bourke, Diarmuid Mulcahy, Daniel Foley, Jake Fahy, Darragh Bolger, Ben Owens, Conor McGrath, Brian Quirke, Kieran Quirke, Brian Lacey, Dara Murphy, Gavin Byrne, Jack Harney, Jack Holohan, Jack Phelan, Harry Phelan, Anthony Phelan, Brian McKeown, Mike McGrath and Seamus O’Brien.

Speak Your Mind

Tell us what you're thinking...
and oh, if you want a pic to show with your comment, go get a gravatar!

You must be logged in to post a comment.