Tipperary GAA Scene 19th Jan 2010



Well done to the Tipperary senior footballers who had a successful weekend in the McGrath Cup Senior Football competition, winning matches on consecutive days against the University of Limerick (2-9 to 2-6) on Saturday and Limerick Institute of Technology (2-13 to 2-6) on Sunday.  In all 13 new players were used between the 2 games with 6 of them getting on the score sheet. Peter Acheson scored the winning goal against UL on Saturday and Padraig O’Dwyer and Donal Lynch scored a goal each against LIT on Sunday. In the game against UL, Conor Sweeney scored 3 points and Alan Rockett 1 point while Stephen Hahessy scored 4points (0-2 frees) against LIT. Timmy Dalton of Arravale Rovers played for LIT on Sunday. The weekend victories were the first in the McGrath Cup for the Premier County since 2006 when they defeated CIT in the preliminary round. Tipperary have not won two consecutive matches in this competition since 2003 when one point victories over Waterford and Clare ensured the last McGrath Cup title success for the Premier County.  Back to 2010 and Tipperary will now play Kerry in the McGrath Cup semi-final next Sunday at 2pm in Fitzgerald Stadium, Killarney. We wish them all the best in what will be an early season precursor to their Munster Championship encounter at Semple Stadium in May.


Good luck to the Tipperary senior hurlers who will play Clare in the quarter finals of the Waterford Crystal Cup in Borrisoleigh at 7.30pm on Tuesday, January 26th.   Their last meeting in this competition was in the final at Ogonnelloe on January 25th 2009 when the Banner County won by 1-12 to 1-7.  The winners of the Tipp v Clare game will play the winners of the IT Tralee v Waterford game in the semi-finals.


Tipperary supporters are invited to the Launch of the Tipperary Supporters Club 2010 Membership which will be performed by Liam Sheedy and members of the Senior Hurling Panel in the Horse and Jockey Hotel on Friday January 29th at 8pm.  Membership will cost €30 again for 2010, the 5th year in succession without an increase. Full details on membership benefits and how to join can be viewed on www.tippsupportersclub.com.  To find out more about the Launch and membership, the Supporters Club can be contacted by email on info@tippsupportersclub.com or by ringing John Coman, PRO and Membership Officer on 087 9087105. All funds raised by the Tipperary Supporters Club are spent directly on the Tipperary Senior Hurling team and underage teams.


In the Corn Uí Mhuirí Munster Colleges Senior Football quarter finals, Abbey CBS Tipperary Town will play Coláiste na Scelige of Kerry on Wednesday January 27th at 2.30pm at Abbeyfeale.  In the Corn an Uachtarain Munster Colleges Senior Football Championship B Clonmel CBS will play Coláiste Choilm Ballincollg on Wednesday January 27th at 2.30pm at Mallow.


The Croke Cup Tipperary Post Primary Schools U15 A Hurling final will be played between Thurles CBS and Our Lady’s, Templemore at 2.30pm at The Ragg on Monday next, January 25th.


The County Referees Committee is organising a foundation course for new referees which will be run over 4 nights in February – the 2nd, 4th, 9th and 11th. The venue will be announced next week. Given the number of games being played every year, new referees are essential and the Referees Committee is seeking people enthusiastic for a long term career in refereeing.  Despite an often contrary public view, it can be a very enjoyable and rewarding experience. People interested should notify the County Referees Co-Ordinator, John Lonergan on 086 2417763 or contact the Tipperary GAA Office on 0504 22702.


In 2006, Croke Park introduced a new club web site structure which allows clubs to create and update a web site with no web design knowledge. There are no costs involved and the necessary training documentation will be provided. To get started, a member of your GAA club should contact Tipperary GAA IT Officer, Ed Donnelly (ed.donnelly@gaa.ie) with the following two pieces of information – Club colours and Club Crest / logo (if applicable). The format of the site is the same as the Official Tipperary GAA web site at www.tipperary.gaa.ie. A significant number of Tipperary clubs have availed of this new template to date so if your GAA club if among the 20% of those in the Premier County that does not yet have a club web site, why not avail of this opportunity now before the playing season commences again in a few weeks time?


Congratulations to Martin Buckley of Timeyliter Roscrea and Thomas Stokes of Monemore Monard Tipperary who both won cars in the Tipperary Clubs January Draw which was hosted last Friday night by the Loughmore Castleiney club in the Community Parish Hall, Loughmore. Congratulations also to all the other prize winners.


Best wishes to County Junior B hurling champions, Templederry Kenyons, who are representing Tipperary in the Munster Junior Hurling “B” championship which is organised and run by Killeedy GAA Club from West Limerick. Templederry will play Cork champions Ballincurra in the semi-final at 2pm next Sunday, January 24th in either Raheenagh or Newtownshandrum (venue will be confirmed later this week).


We extend our sympathy to the family of the late Bob Stakelum of Holycross Ballycahill who died last weekend. Bob was President of the Mid Tipperary Divisional GAA Board since 1993 and gave a lifetime of service to the GAA. He played inter-county football and hurling with Tipperary and was a member of the Tipperary panel which won the All Ireland Senior Hurling Championship in 1949. He won Tipperary county senior hurling championships with Holycross-Ballycahill in 1948, 1951 and 1954. He was also a noted referee and took charge of the 1955 All Ireland Senior Hurling final, the 1956 Munster Senior Hurling Final and the 1954 and 55 Munster Senior Football finals. He wrote a book “Gaelic Games in Holycross Ballycahill 1884 to 1990”  He was elected to the Mid Tipperary Board “Hall of Fame” in 1999. Ar dheis Dé go raibh a anam uasal.


Tipperary’s first game in the Munster Minor Hurling Championship will be against Cork in Pairc Uí Chaoimh on Wednesday April 28th at 6.30pm. The winners will play the winners of Limerick and Kerry in the semi-final on Wednesday, June 24th at 7.30pm.  The losers will go into a play-off for a semi-final place.

In the Minor Football Championship, Tipperary’s first game will be on Wednesday, April 14th at 6.30pm against Kerry in Austin Stack Park Tralee in a repeat of last year’s Munster final. The winners will play Limerick or Waterford in the semi-final. The losers will go into a play-off for a semi-final place.


In the U-21 Football Championship, Tipperary have a bye to the Munster semi-final where they will play the winners of the Limerick v Clare quarter final on Thursday, March 18th at 7.30pm in Semple Stadium.

In the U-21 Hurling Championship, Tipperary also have a bye to the Munster semi-final where they will play Waterford or Cork on Wednesday, July 14th.  If the opponents are Waterford, the venue is Semple Stadium whereas if the opponents are Cork, the venue is Páirc Ui Chaoimh.


Information concerning all areas in the GAA will appear in this section in the future. If you wish to include any item of interest in future articles, please contact the County Public Relations Officer Ger Ryan at 086-8149146 or via e-mail at pro.tipperary@gaa.ie on or before 3:00pm on Monday. Visit the Tipperary GAA web site at http://tipperary.gaa.ie to keep up to date with all the latest news in Tipperary GAA circles.

Speak Your Mind

Tell us what you're thinking...
and oh, if you want a pic to show with your comment, go get a gravatar!

You must be logged in to post a comment.