Tipperary GAA Scene, 12th Jan 2010

by County PRO Ger Ryan


A slightly belated Happy New Year to all Tipperary GAA patrons and all who read this column. We hope 2010 brings you all that you wish for and on the playing fields we hope it will be a successful year for Tipperary.


As we look forward to 2010, 2009 will have different memories for everybody. Here are just a few of my personal experiences and recollections from the year. I met Padraig McGahan for the first time last year – he travels from his home in County Armagh to all hurling championship games in Munster and Leinster and was in Thurles for the November 1st 125 celebrations – a true fan of our games if ever there was one. I had a call from a lady the day before the Munster final inquiring what the weather would be like for the match – I did not realise that PROs were expected to be meteorologists as well! The All Ireland hurling final weekend was unforgettable. To put up such a great performance and lose was unbelievable but what sticks in my mind though will be the memory of the thousands of people who came out in the rain on the Monday evening in Thurles to welcome home the team. We are fortunate to have so many decent and genuine people supporting our teams. The Torch Run on the weekend of the Munster final will always be a treasured memory. From the pick up point in Annacotty all the way through to Thurles, it was a great celebratory journey for young and old of all that is best in the GAA. It was a privilege to be part of it. Witnessing my own club, Templederry Kenyons win the County Junior B Hurling championship was a great thrill – county titles are always precious irrespective of the grade. Getting to introduce the teams of the past from Borris-Ileigh and Kilruane MacDonaghs at the county senior hurling and football finals respectively was a great honour. Our memories of the past fuel our ambitions for the future so here’s to a great 2010.


Good luck to the Tipperary senior footballers for their first outing of the 2010 season against University of Limerick in the McGrath Senior Football Cup preliminary round at Dr. Morris Park, Thurles at 7.30pm on Thursday January 14th.  If Tipperary win, they will play LIT in the quarter finals at 2pm on Sunday January 17th at Sean Treacy Park in Tipperary Town.


Tipperary senior hurlers will play the winners of Clare and Waterford IT in the quarter finals of the Waterford Crystal Cup. The date and venue have yet to be fixed.


The first meeting of Coiste Chontae Thiobraid Árann in 2010 will be held on Tuesday, January 19th in the Sarsfields Centre, Thurles at 8pm. This meeting will decide on systems for the running of Co Championships and Leagues in 2010. Also at the January County Committee Meeting, 2 County Board Delegate Representatives will be elected to the County Management Committee for 2010. The outgoing Representatives are Johnny Doyle (Holycross-Ballycahill) and Jimmy Minogue (Nenagh Éire Óg). Following the retirement of Noel Joyce, a new County Cultural Officer will also be elected at the meeting. Motions re formats for championships and leagues and nominations for vacant positions should be sent to the County Secretary by Friday January 15th at the latest.  Club Affiliation Forms for 2010 have been sent to all Club Secretaries and should be returned to the County Secretary January 31st at the latest.


The Tipperary Senior Footballers will open their championship campaign on Sunday May 16th against All Ireland champions, Kerry at Semple Stadium at 4pm. The senior hurlers will play Cork in their first game at Páirc Ui Chaoimh at 4pm. Both games will be shown live on RTE. The winners of Tipp and Kerry play Cork in the semi-finals on Sunday June 6th and the winners of Tipp and Cork play Limerick on Sunday June 20th. The Munster Senior Football final is fixed for Sunday July 4th while the Munster Senior Hurling final is fixed for Sunday July 11th.


The quarter finals draw for the Dr. Harty Cup Munster Senior Colleges Hurling were made in Mallow at the weekend. All four games will be played at 2.30pm on Wednesday, January 20th 2010. Defending champions and most people’s favourites for the competition, Thurles CBS will play St. Flannans College Ennis at Claughaun. The other games are Nenagh CBS v De La Salle Waterford at Clonmel, Our Lady’s Templemore v Ard Scoil Ris at Golden and Midleton CBS vs St Caimin’s Shannon at Feenagh.


In the Corn Uí Mhuirí Munster Colleges Senior Football quarter finals, Abbey CBS Tipperary Town will play Coláiste na Scelige of Kerry on Wednesday January 27th at 2.30pm at Abbeyfeale.  In the Corn Phadraig Munster Colleges Senior Hurling B Abbey CBS will play Dunagravan CBS on Wednesday January 20th at 2.30pm at Cahir. In the Munster Colleges Senior Football Championship B Clonmel CBS will play Coláiste Choilm Ballincollg on Wednesday January 27th at 2.30pm at Mallow.


A meeting of the South Tipperary Referees will take place in Monroe at 8pm on Tuesday January 19th. All referees are asked to supply names of their umpires to Secretary, Noel Cosgrave at this meeting.


Tipperary midfielder Eamonn Hanrahan has announced his retirement from inter-county football. Eamonn made his Munster Senior Football Championship debut against Clare in June 2000 and captured the Tommy Murphy Cup title with the Tipperary in 2005. He will continue to play with his club, Clonmel Commercials. We wish Eamonn all the best for the future and thank him for his dedication and commitment to Tipperary football.


The following dates have been agreed for the inter-county and inter-divisional juvenile competitions in 2010. Saturday May 1st – Munster Under 16 Inter-Divisional Hurling First Rounds. Monday May 3rd – Munster Under 16 Inter-Divisional Hurling Semi Finals & Finals. Saturday July 17th – Munster Inter-County Football Competitions:  Under 16 in Limerick, Under 14 (Jim Power tournament) in Waterford. If there are under 15 or under 17 football tournaments they will also take place on Saturday July 17th.

The Munster Óg Iomáint Under 14 Hurling Coaching will take place on Wednesday August 11th and Thursday  August 12th. The Munster Óg Peil Under 14 Football Coaching will take place on Wednesday August 18th and Thursday August 19th.

Saturday August 28th and Sunday August 29th – Inter County Under 16 Hurling Competition (Tipperary Supporters Club tournament) and Inter County Under 14 (Tony Forristal tournament). Saturday August 28th – Munster Inter County Under 15 Hurling in Carrigdhoun and Under 17 Hurling in Mallow.

Lá na gClub 2010

GAA President, Christy Cooney and Director General, Páraic Duffy have announced that Sunday May 9th 2010 will be kept free of fixtures to provide clubs with the opportunity to organise similar events to those run as part of the Lá na gClub day in 2009. They also want to thank all clubs for the efforts they put into the 125 Celebrations.


We extend our sympathy to the family of the late Betty Ryan of Thurles who died last weekend. Betty was mother of Any Ryan, former County Youth Officer and current Games Development Administrator for the mid Division, and sister of Andy O’Gorman of Gortnahoe-Glengoole GAA club.


Information concerning all areas in the GAA will appear in this section in the future. If you wish to include any item of interest in future articles, please contact the County Public Relations Officer Ger Ryan at 086-8149146 or via e-mail at pro.tipperary@gaa.ie on or before 3:00pm on Monday. Visit the Tipperary GAA web site at http://tipperary.gaa.ie to keep up to date with all the latest news in Tipperary GAA circles.

Speak Your Mind

Tell us what you're thinking...
and oh, if you want a pic to show with your comment, go get a gravatar!

You must be logged in to post a comment.