Tipperary GAA Scene 15th Dec 2009



Congratulations to Aherlow on their victory over JK Brackens in the County U-21 B Hurling final played at The Ragg last Sunday. It was their second county title at this grade and, having already won the County Junior A hurling title, it brings an end to a great year for the West Division club. The playing of this final completed the fixtures programme in the county for 2009.


Congratulations to PJ Maher of Boherlahan-Dualla who was elected as one of Tipperary’s 2 Munster Council representatives at the County Convention which was held in the Dome at Semple Stadium on Monday evening last. PJ follows in the footsteps of his late father Tim, who also served as a Munster Council representative. Well deserved tributes were paid to John Ryan (Holycross Ballycahill) who retired as Munster Council representative due to the 5 year rule. Congratulations also to John Smith (Durlas Óg) who was elected Youth Officer in succession to Andy Ryan (Durlas Óg) who stood down due to his recent appointment as a Games Development Administrator for the Mid Division. Noel Joyce also retired as Irish Language and Culture Officer. His replacement will be elected at the first County Board meeting in January. All other outgoing officers were returned unopposed. County Chairman, Barry O’Brien, thanked all retiring officers for their contributions.


The Tipperary County Final of Scór na nÓg was held in Halla na Féile Cashel on Friday December 11th 2009. It was a wonderful night of cultural entertainment and the standard of competition was very high. County Chairman, Barry O’ Brien and Scór Chairman Seamus McGrath addressed the audience and complimented all the competitors on their talent, confidence and dedication to keeping Irish culture alive. Medals were presented on the night by Paddy Stapleton, Tipperay Senior County hurler. The following winners will represent Tipperary in the Munster semi-final which will take place in January 2010. Figure Dancing: JK Brackens; Solo Singing: Newcastle; Instrumental Music: Newport; Recitation: Newcastle; Ballad Group: Newport; Question Time: Loughmore-Castleiney; Novelty Act: Moycarky-Borris; Set Dancing: Newcastle; We wish them all the very best in future rounds of the competition


I want to thank everybody who supplied me with material for the GAA Scene during 2009. It would not have been possible without you. I want to thank all those who read the Scene. I hope it meets your expectations. I want to thank the people who have contacted me with suggestions and ideas. Your feedback and thoughts are very welcome and very helpful, particularly to a novice PRO. I am grateful to all the newspapers and others who publish the GAA Scene. All have been most obliging with space and deadlines.

It has been an enjoyable, eventful and exciting year. I will share some of my reflections on it in my first Scene in January. Meanwhile, I hope you all have a Happy Christmas and a great 2010. Tiobraid Árann Abú.


The GAA Scene will take a short holiday and reappear in the newspapers dated Saturday January 16th 2010.


Information concerning all areas in the GAA will appear in this section in the future. If you wish to include any item of interest in future articles, please contact the County Public Relations Officer Ger Ryan at 086-8149146 or via e-mail at pro.tipperary@gaa.ie on or before 3:00pm on Monday. Visit the Tipperary GAA web site at http://tipperary.gaa.ie to keep up to date with all the latest news in Tipperary GAA circles.

Speak Your Mind

Tell us what you're thinking...
and oh, if you want a pic to show with your comment, go get a gravatar!

You must be logged in to post a comment.