Tipperary GAA Scene 20th Oct 2009

Tipperary GAA Scene by County PRO Ger Ryan


Congratulations to Thurles Sarsfields on winning their 30th county senior hurling title at Semple Stadium on Sunday in front of an attendance of 9,500 people. County Chairman Barry O’Brien presented the Dan Breen Cup to Sarsfields captain and long serving forward, Johnny Enright. Padraic Maher who had a great game at full back for Thurles was named Man of the Match. Sarfields will now face Newtownshandrum of Cork in the Munster Club championship quarter final in Semple Stadium on Sunday, November 1st, which will be 125 years exactly since the GAA was founded in Hayes Hotel in 1884. Thurles Sarsfields also won the title 50 years ago and 100 years ago on the 75th and 25th anniversaries of the GAA’s founding respectively. The first decade of the current millennium closes with Toomevara having won 6 of the 10 titles on offer, Sarsfields 2 and Mullinahone and Loughmore Castleiney 1 each. The last team to win a County Final scoring exactly 0-14 was Borris-Ileigh in 1986 and they went on to win the All Ireland club title in 1987 – an omen perhaps!


Congratulations to Carrick Davins on winning their first ever County Intermediate title when they defeated Arravale Rovers by 1-13 to 1-6 in Semple Stadium on Sunday. County Vice Chairman, Sean Nugent presented the Jacksie Ryan Cup to the Davins Captain, Gerard Robinson. It is only the second time that a team from the South Division has won the Intermediate Hurling championship. The first was 30 years when Ballingarry won the championship in 1979, the inaugural year of the County Intermediate Hurling championship.


It’s the turn of the club footballers to take centre stage this weekend when Aherlow will play Moyle Rovers in the county senior football final at Semple Stadium at 3pm on Sunday, October 25th. It will be preceded at 1pm by the Minor A Football final replay between Ardfinnan and Loughmore Castleiney. Aherlow last won the senior title in 2006 while Moyle Rovers won it last in 2007. Moyle Rovers are the only club to have already won 2 titles this decade. Prior to 2007, they also won in it in 2000 when they completed a 3 in a row and secured a 5th title in 6 years. We wish all 4 clubs the best of luck on Sunday. Between the 2 games, the 1975 county senior football champions, Kilruane MacDonaghs, will be introduced on the pitch.


The entry fee to the County Final is €20 for Adults, €10 for Students and OAPs, and Under 16s are free (Valid photographic I.D. required). Only Ardán Ó Riain (New Stand) will be open. All passholders must go to stile 41 or 54 including County Board passholders, 5 year term ticket holders and stewards

We thank our patrons in advance for their co-operation with these arrangements.


Tipperary won 4 hurling awards when the 2009 Vodafone GAA All Stars were announced last week. Congratulations to Padraic Maher (full back, 1st award), Conor O’Mahony (left half back, 2nd award), Larry Corbett (right half forward, 1st award) and Noel McGrath (right corner forward, 1st award). Noel was also chosen as Young Hurler of the Year. Noel’s All Star award is the first for a Loughmore Castleiney player and he is also the youngest ever winner of an All Star award being still two months short of his 19th birthday. Eddie Enright was the only previous award winner from Thurles Sarsfields and Larry Corbett and Padraic Maher are the first two non-brothers to bring 2 awards to the same Tipperary club in the one season. Previous dual winners from the same club were Conal and Cormac Bonnar of Cashel King Cormacs (1989 and 1991) and Eoin and Paul Kelly of Mullinahone (2002 and 2005). Conor O’Mahony becomes the first Tipperary player to win awards in successive years since Eoin Kelly won 3 awards in a row between 2004 and 2006.

Michael Hogan Commemoration – TIpp V CORK SF CHALLENGE

Following the disappointment which followed the cancellation due to the inclement weather experienced in May of much of the Michael Hogan memorial weekend, the people of Grangemockler will complete their commemoration of Michael Hogan and the events of Bloody Sunday on the weekend of October 31st 2009. The events will kick off with a senior football challenge between Tipperary and Cork under the new lights in Semple Stadium Thurles on Halloween night, Saturday 31st at 7.00PM. The clash of the Conor Counihan’s Munster champions and All Ireland runners up and John Evans National league division 3 winners will provide a fitting opportunity to finish off the footballing year in what will be the last inter county match of 2009. The weekend will be completed when Uachtarán Cumann Luthchleas Gael, Criostóir Ó Cuana unveils a plaque in Michael Hogan’s home village of Grangemockler on Sunday morning November 1st at 9.15am. This plaque will commemorate the events of Bloody Sunday in this the 125th year of the GAA. The 125th anniversary celebrations of the GAA could not be completed without marking such a seminal moment not alone in GAA history but in that of the formation of our nation as a whole. The people of Grangemockler are anxious to finish what was started earlier in the year with a fitting conclusion to their efforts to honour one of their own and would invite all of those who wish to be part of this commemoration of the momentous events of Bloody Sunday 1920 to join us over the weekend


We wish James Woodlock all the best for a speedy and full recovery from the broken leg he sustained in an accidental clash towards the end of the county senior hurling final last Sunday. We also thank all the medical personnel who tended James so well at Semple Stadium.


Time is running out if you have not bought a ticket for the Friends of Tipperary Football Membership Draw which has many excellent prizes. Tickets are €20 each and are available from any member of the Committee. The 1st prize is €5,000 euro and there is a total Prize Fund of €9,000 euro. Proceeds of the Draw support all County Football teams. The Draw will be held on Wednesday, 4th November.


A reprint of Tommy Doyle’s book “A Lifetime in Hurling” is now available. The autobiography of the famed Thurles Sarsfields and Tipperary hurler was the first autobiography of a GAA star and was first published in 1955. The cost including packaging and postage is €56.50. The book is now from Kenny’s Bindery, 13-18 Kilkerrin Park, Liosbaun, Tuam Road, Galway, phone 091-709362, fax 091-757516, email: bindery@kennys.ie. Thanks to the Doyle family for permitting the reprint and to PJ Maxwell for making the necessary arrangements.


The fixtures for the 2010 Allianz National Leagues have been announced. In football, newly promoted Division 3 champions Tipperary will kick off their Division 2 campaign on Saturday February 6th away to Laois. Their other fixtures (home team first) are February 13th – Tipp v Kildare; March 6th – Down v Tipp; March 14th – Tipp v Meath; March 20th – Tipp v Donegal; March 28th – Armagh v Tipp; and April 11th – Tipp v Westmeath. In hurling, Tipperary’s campaign will start off with the visit of Kilkenny for a game under lights on February 20th. Their other fixtures (home team first) are February 28th – Dublin v Tipp; March 14th – Tipp v Galway; March 21st Limerick v Tipperary; March 28th – Tipp v Waterford; April 4th – Cork v Tipp and April 18th – Offaly v Tipp.


Information concerning all areas in the GAA will appear in this section in the future. If you wish to include any item of interest in future articles, please contact the County Public Relations Officer Ger Ryan at 086-8149146 or via e-mail at pro.tipperary@gaa.ie on or before 3:00pm on Monday. Visit the Tipperary GAA web site at http://tipperary.gaa.ie to keep up to date with all the latest news in Tipperary GAA circles.

Speak Your Mind

Tell us what you're thinking...
and oh, if you want a pic to show with your comment, go get a gravatar!

You must be logged in to post a comment.