M Donnelly 2009 All Ireland Poc Fada Final


BRENDAN CUMMINS BACK TO DEFEND POC FADA TITLE-World boxing Champion Bernard Dunne will also attend All Ireland Hurling Event

Tipperary goalkeeper Brendan Cummins will be back on Annaverna Mountain this year to defend his M Donnelly All Ireland Poc Fada title. The unique sporting and cultural GAA event takes place on Saturday the 1st of August and commences at 1 pm. The All Ireland winning hurler who holds the record for the challenging 5km mountain course is hoping to claim his fourth All Ireland Craobh na hÉireann title in a row. Amongst those hoping to take the title away from Brendan Cummins is Clares Brendan Mc Namara the Munster Poc Fada winner and Ulster Poc Fada Champion, Derrys Ruairi Convery who lost out to him last year by just two pocs. Connacht Poc Fada Champion Kerrill Wade of Galway is also fancied to give a good account of himself, and Leinster Champion Shane O Connor from Offaly will also hope to be amongst the top challengers. Roscommon’s Gerry Fallon, Dublin’s Fintan O Brien, Limericks Albert Shanahan, winner in 2001 and 2005, and Downs Carl Keating are also in the line up. Kilkenny’s James Mc Garry, Wexfords Damien Fitzhenry and Galway’s James Skehill complete the strong field.

Carlow’s Lyndsey Condell is back to defend her  M Donnelly All Ireland Camogie Poc Fada. In that contest she will face her sister Tracy Condell who is representing Lenister and also  Galways Catriona Daly, Patrica Jackman of Waterford, Voureen Quigley of Louth, and  Laura Mc Guinness of Armagh . The camogie contest is pencilled in to start at 12.30pm.

The under 16 Poc Fada sees Noel Fallon from Roscommon, Liam O Dea from Limerick, Nathan Green from Armagh and Ronan Geoghegan from Louth competing for the title.

World Boxing Champion Bernard Dunne a regular visitor to the Poc Fada which takes place on Annaverna Mountain near Ravensdale County Louth, is also expected to attend the contest and cross the mountain with the hurlers.

Chairperson of the national Coiste of An Poc Fada, Donie Nealon said that a great days completion was expected. “This is a very unique sporting event. We can expect a close contest” said the former Tipperary star hurler and Munster Council secretary. Chairperson of the local organising committee Paddy mc Mahon remined all those attending. “This is a demanding 5km course and I would advise all whether spectators or those coming to help to come prepared for just that. I would ask that anyone taking a vehicle drives carefully and perhaps parks their cars in the field at the bottom of mountain”. He also appealed to local GAA Hurling, Camogie and Football Clubs to come along and assist at the event to.

For further information contact

Pat Hamilton (Louth) 00353429323903 / 0862373345

Pat Mc Ginn (Armagh) 02830839588 / 07545558141

An Poc Fada Craobh na hÉireann

M Donnelly All Ireland Poc Fada Final Annaverna Mountain, Ravensdale

Cooley County Louth

Saturday 1st August 2009

Commencing 12.30pm

M Donnelly All Ireland Poc Fada Hurlers 2009

1 – Kerrill Wade :The Connacht Poc Fada Champion  is a member of the Sarsfields Club in Galway and visits the mountain for the first time. No doubt Kerrill hopes to ensure that his first vist will be a victorious one. Will poc off first in this year’s event.

2 – Gerry Fallon: Runner up in the Connacht Poc Fada Final, Gerry who plays his hurling with Roscommon Club Oran also visits the moutain for the first time and is expected to go well. Goes out tenth in the field

3 – Shane O Connor: The Leinster Poc Fada Champion from Offaly and is a member of the Coolderry Club makes his third appearance on the mountain. His experience of the course will no doubt be of great benefit. Will be fifth out

4 Fintan O Brien: The Lenister Poc Fada runner up appears on the mountain for the first time and Fintan who plays with Dublin Club Cuala faces the 5km course with high hopes. Pocs off second in field

5Brendan Mc Namara: The Scariff hurler from County Clare returns to the mountain as Munster Poc Fada Champion and would be expected to be challenging for the all Ireland title. Will go out ninth in field

6 – Albert Shanahan: The Limerick hurler, a member of the South Liberties club won the All Ireland Poc Fada title in 2001 and 2005. Albert has a good insight into the tough mountain course and should use this to his advantage. Albert will be fourth in the line out.

7 – Ruairi Convery: The Ulster Poc Fada Champion who is a member of the Swatragh Club in Derry returns to the moutain after finishing a close second last year. Ruairi is hopeful that he can go one better this year. Will poc off third in the lineout.

8 – Carl Keating: The Portaferry hurler from County Down competes in his first Poc Fada and the Ulster Poc Fada runner up hopes to give a good account of himself over the 5km mountain course. Goes out sixth in this years field.

9- Brendan Cummins ;The Tipperary hurler who plays with the Ballybacon-Grange Club hopes to complete four in a row Poc Fada titles having held the mantle since 2006. He won his first All Ireland Poc Fada title in 2004 and holds the course record with 48 pocs. As Champion, Brendan pocs of last.

10 – James McGarry : The highly accomplished and respected Kilkenny hurler who plays with his local club Bennettsbridge takes on the mountain for the first time. James will no doubt be determined to make a strong showing. James will be seventh in the lineout

11- Damien Fitzhenry: The Wexford and Duffry Rovers hurler makes a welcome return to the moutain and he is expected to make a strong bid to capture the All Ireland Poc Fada title. Damien goes out eighth.

12 – James Skehill:The Cappataggle Clubman came to prominence with the Galway side and makes a welcome return to the Annaverna moutain. He is expected to make a strong showing. James will line out eleventh in this years Poc Fada.

The M Donnelly All Ireland Comorotas Beirte 2009

All Ireland Poc Fada Pairs

(A) Damien Fitzhenry and Fintan O Brien

(B) Brendan Cummins and Gerry Fallon

(C) Carl Keating and kerril Wade

(D) Albert Shanahan and James Mc Garry

(E) Ruairi Convery and Brendan Mc Namara

(F) Shane O Connor and James Skehill

M Donnelly All Ireland Camogie Poc Fada 2009

1 – Laura mc Guinness (Madden) Armagh

2- Voureen Quigley(Kilkerly) Louth

3 – Lyndsey Condell (Naomh Bríd)Carlow (2008 Champion)

4 – Catriona Daly (Mullagh) Galway

5 – Patricia Jackman (Gaultier) Waterford

6 – Tracy Condell (Naomh Bríd) Carlow

M Donnelly Under 16 All Ireland Poc Fada

1 – Noel Fallon (Four Roads) Roscommon

2- Ronan Geoghegan (Naomh Moninne ) Louth

3 – Liam O Dea (Pallisgreen) Limerick

4 – Nathan Greene (Keady) Armagh


One Response to “M Donnelly 2009 All Ireland Poc Fada Final”
  1. Armagh GAA says:

    good luck and all the best to the lads, I hope to be their.

Speak Your Mind

Tell us what you're thinking...
and oh, if you want a pic to show with your comment, go get a gravatar!

You must be logged in to post a comment.